Amsterdam is really CLEAN!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 9th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My New Nigerian FriendsMy New Nigerian FriendsMy New Nigerian Friends

These boys I meet in Amsterdam and they told me all about Power Rangers and Star Wars! American culture everywhere!
June 9, 2005

Somewhere over the Atlantic Ocean… I guess you could say I had my first special moment, I woke up, the plane was very quiet and the sun was rising in all its crimson and yellow rays, over the ocean. I was listening to Bob Marley on the Ipod and it hit me what a journey this was. It actually brought tears to my eyes. The song was “Every little thing gonna be alright”… Michael Cox, I thought about you and your love for Bob Marley. And then the next song was U-2’s One which is the theme song for the ONE Campaign… DATA campaign ending World Hunger, Poverty and HIV. For those that don’t know about Bono’s campaign please go to the www.one.org or www.data.org site. They have helped me with this trip and it was just fitting that as the sun rises in the sky that song comes on to remind me of why I am going. Spiritual moment #1 … Sorry I didn’t have my camera, but it would have ruined it for me. Next time!


Made it to Amsterdam!!! It is really Europe, free smoking in the restaurants!!! And Heineken Beer everywhere! Who drinks that stuff??? This is the cleanest place I have ever been; flying into the city looks fake it is so clean. So the next stop is Addis Ababa! I feel like I have been traveling for weeks! This is the 4th flight! I am not really sure what time it is but I have another time change to go through so, I am not worried about it! 9 hours to Ethiopia and then I can stop for a while... at least until Sat when I fly into the rural regions! Love to all!


Advertisement



9th June 2005

Miss You Already!
I guess by now you are getting close to Ethopia or are there. Toren called this morning and all is well at home. The pictures from Amsterdam were great! This is getting more exciting by the day. I guess we'll all be camped out by the computer. Get some rest!!!! Love, Mom - Mom
10th June 2005

This is the third time I have tried to post a comment and I hope you get it. Everyone here is following your adventure and wishing you well. Much love, Aunt Marsha and the D.C. gang - Aunt Marsha
10th June 2005

I see you are in Africa doing your thing. My mom is really stressing about sending you a comment. She feels none of her messages are getting to you. Hang in there and be safe. Mike - Michael Stephens

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.092s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb