A diary, a house and a little girl


Advertisement
Published: May 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Tues 7th

It was time to return to the central city to go check out a house that some girl, by then name of Anne Frank lived in.

I studied the map and off I went. Soon to realise that sometimes you need to keep checking in on that map to make sure you are heading in the right direction. Not me, I dont do that. So after almost 40-50 mins of walking, I finally decided to check, well glad I finally did as was heading to totally the wrong direction. I pretty much had to double back and hunt around for the place I was supposed to be in.

Finally I found this allusive house, only to be met by the longest line of other eager people who also wanted to check this place out. I tried to find a place that maybe I could cut the cue, but no I had to go all the way to the back. Standing next to American tourist kids is really annoying fyi (they never shut up).

It was interesting to go into the house and learn a bit about the history there and what went on during those horrific times.

After the house I went on a boat tour around the canals. Was nice to sit down, after all the extra walking I had tired legs (especially after a nights dancing at the concert).

After the nice relaxing boat tour I headed back in the other direction (almost to where I was headed in the wrong direction) to check out a museum, with sore tired feet I arrived only to find it had just closed. Had some real good luck that day. It was a sign for me to go back to the house and maybe have a wine..... or two.

Wed 8th

After a day of getting lost, it was time to meet up with a local and let them tell me where to go and save my feet.

I headed to Den Hague and Delft to see some more old stuff, blue stuff and

Just like what seems every other place in the Netherlands, Den Hague and Delft is full of grand old buildings with more with a few canal's thrown in the mix. Den Hague also houses parliament... which stands in the middle of town.

Delft is well known for its blue pottery (delftware), they have this stuff scattered all over the city. We also went to Prinsenhof, a kind of castle where king William of Orange was shot in a stairwell... Doesnt actually mean much to me but the Dutch are all over it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb