Back home after 17 days


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Brabant
July 31st 2011
Published: July 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Pictures attached

Reached home yesterday evening after a 27 hours trip by ferry and train from the cold Shetland islands via London and Brussel.

Back home and thinking already a bit for next year train/ferry trip. Unfortunately the situation in Arab region changed a lot this year and I not even plan it for next year. The islands were great except the cold .For next year the trip might be as follows: Via Germany to Poland, crossing the Baltic States crossing to Helsinki, via Stockholm to Norway and starting with ferries in Bergen, first to Shetland after that Faroe islands and than also by ferry to Iceland enetering Iceland probably on the wrong side and moving to Reykjavic and fly back, Have to do quite some planning still.

This time the trip was short and cold and sometimes wet but in general I saw a lot of things I wanted to see.
Remembering
- Edinburgh as a nice compact city with specially a beautiful old town and the special hotel I stayed with all the majors, standards, war pictures and medals.
Certainly a city to come back.
- Belfast in rain. Probably was that the reason the city looked so desperate depressive. The taxidriver who was upset about my question about recent riots. This should be called Troubels and not Riot. For me not a city to come back.
- The wrong planned hotel in Dublin next to the funeral parlor and 14 km out of city center. All my breakfasts missed because I had to leave early every day for toursseeing the ring of Kerry and the Kylemore abbey in the West.
- Dublin certainly a city to return one time.
- Rebecca who did not know that the Netherlands were in the EU and using the Euro.
-The english addiction to CCTV where half of the population has been needed to spy on the other half.
- New Lanark the world heritage site I wanted to see.
- Looking for the monster of Loch Ness and not finding her on the 1 hour trip.
- The lonelyness you feel on the Orkney islands and the local woman who told me sadly that Orkney is so beautiful with nice weather. I asked her when? She answered there are some days .
-The Shetland Isles and my local Guide Allen who brought me for 3 days over the islands and showed me a lot and let me suffer by walking over beaches and hills. The single track roads they have plenty on the Shetlands. Lerwick the capital of Shetland who has no Mc Donalds, Starbucks and Subways and where the shops close at 5 o clock so they are sure there will be no tourist clients who return in the city between 6 and 7 o clock
The Shetland islands where you can hear the silence.
And I remember all the local beers, good wines, the venison and the lambs and salmon at diner and 17 days without coffee. For drinking coffee is a thing you should not try in the UK.

This is the last entry of this journey and I ll be back after planning the next one


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb