Off to India soon! Last of Europe :(


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Limburg » Maastricht
April 14th 2013
Published: April 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey all,

I am sorry I haven’t written in over a month! I have literally been traveling and haven’t had time to write. The biggest trip I did since the last time I wrote was to Cologne, Germany. As soon as I got off the train, the large gothic dome cathedral (SOOOO tall) greeted me, just outside the the train station. Erica (a girl in my program whom I went to Ireland with) and I were on a mission to find beer and sausage, and these two things we did find, at a local specialty restaurant. After lunch, we spent the afternoon hopping from church to museum, and occasionally stopping for a warm drink (it’s been sooo cold lately). Later in the afternoon we met up with Alex, a girl that I went to high school with, from Germany. After 10 years, I had the lovely opportunity to see her beautiful face again. Imagine, ten years! It was so nice to see her again and catch up. Neither of us have changed much it seems, which I think is a good thing 😊

A week or so after Cologne, Erica, myself, and two of our Dutch friends went to
Chocolate ShopChocolate ShopChocolate Shop

In Gent, Belgium
Ghent, Belgium for a weekend of fun and touring around the city. The first night we got there we just spent the evening in the local hangout pubs and had a great time. We all got super dressed up (suits and ties for the boys) and dresses for us. Other than just dressing up for fun, Erica and I have been complaining that nobody dresses up at night. Don’t get me wrong, everyone looks amazing during the day, but when they go out in the evening, people dress down. Total opposite mentality in Canada, at least among my age group. So, it was fun! The next day we did the touristy thing and went to the city center, checked out the local church, where, in addition to amazing architecture and art inside, there was a harpist that was serenading everyone in the church, which held acoustics beautifully. Next, we found some Belgium beer, which, my friends, is incomparable to any other beer. Just saying, nothing will live up to the quality of the beer I had in Gent. Then, to the chocolate shop, which, again, was fantastic. Not the healthiest of days, but hey, when in Belgium right?

Two weekends later, Erica and our friend Riaan, and myself went to Amsterdam for a weekend, where I ventured into a wild world of sex museums, red light districts, and museums such as the one that features the life of Anne Frank. It was a beautiful day the first day, and the two days flew by. Our hotel was less than mediocre, but we didn’t care. We were out all day both days walking along the numerous canals and enjoying the first day of sun we had seen in a while. The following week, I went to an old castle ruin 20 km from Maastricht, which was really interesting as well. There was a beautiful view from the top of the hill, and I kept wondering what it would have been like to live in a castle in the 1700s. hmmm....



In terms of traveling, this was the extent of it between trying to finish up final papers, give a presentation, and start packing for India. But, I think I did pretty well, all things considered. I have had a blast in Europe. Best 3 months ever. I have made some amazing friends, formed a band with three
CastleCastleCastle

Valkenburg, Netherlands
guys (one in my program, and two from Holland), whom I was to perform with the last night. I definitely will be back at some point. Now, it’s off to India, and I will be there for a month in total. Will keep you posted!!! xoxo Kazz


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb