"My friend went to Maastricht, & all I got was this pair of underwear."


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Limburg » Maastricht
January 27th 2010
Published: January 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The MarketThe MarketThe Market

Maastricht's hot-spot for tulips, fruit, and ... underwear!?
Today was yet another extremely random day with no real highlights to point out, so this blog is going to be extremely short.

Since it's Wednesday, the market was going on out front today. There are so many random things there. For instance, you can buy flowers at one cart & right next to it you can buy a pair of underwear. I assumed that a market meant that local farmers would bring in their produce to be sold; however, I was totally wrong. There were a few places that had fruit & such for sale, but most of the places had either fabric or underwear or clothing of some sort. Very random, indeed. Granted, the Wednesday markets are smaller than the Friday markets, I can't imagine that Fridays are very different. So if anyone needs a new pair of underwear, a bra, or shiny pink leggings, let me know, & I'll pick you up some. 😊

I also went to the movie store today to buy Inglorious Basterds. It's a very good flick, but very Tarantino (i.e. lots of blood & guts & essentially everyone gets shot at least once). However, I do recommend it. The plot is very cool, & the way the movie was put together is very interesting. I mean, it's 2.5 hours long, but still... it's Brad Pitt for 2.5 hours, & NOBODY can complain about that! I'm just hoping that this DVD will play on a DVD player back in the States because when I put it in my laptop, I had to change the "region" settings to Europe. I didn't even know you had to do that... hmm... The people at the store were super nice. There was a man who needed help finding or ordering something, & he let me cut in line in front of him to pay. Who said the Dutch were rude? haha. He also spoke English to me & smiled the whole time so apparently I didn't offend him!

Those were my big "adventures" of the day. Back to my research project. (YUCK!) Orientation starts tomorrow, so it will be nice to be back on a routine schedule again. I'm not sure how many more of these idle days I can take! I'm a very regimen-oriented person, so to just wake up & not have anything in particular to do makes me super lazy. My only worry is that I won't be able to wake up in time for orientation tomorrow! Granted, it doesn't start until 10, I still have yet to wake up before that. (I should qualify that with a "get up before 10 & stay awake" statement, haha.) It's so weird talking to my friends at home who are sitting in class while I sit around & literally do nothing. That will change soon, though, I'm sure. 😊

Advertisement



28th January 2010

did you get me a pair??? european underwear sound awesome... or even better, i bet i would look phenomenal in those pink leggings.

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb