Prologue: In the beginning


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Limburg » Maastricht
May 4th 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Prologue: In the beginning.

There was an idea, voiced by a woman on a particular terrace at the “onze lieve vrouwe plein” Maastricht. Heard by a man whose initial reaction was a mix of opposing emotions. Fear was replaced by opportunity, opportunity replaced by worry, worry by possibilities. And although no decision was made at that instant, it was the start of a journey to lands at the far reaches of the world, and one step further. For after a week or 2 of careful deliberation the answer was “Yes”.

Obviously the man in this story was me, the woman, Ilse and the idea, well. It is difficult to determine the true nature of such ideas. For an idea is only sometimes the end result, more often a pause before it continues somewhere else and always a process. A process influenced by many things such as information, people, thoughts, dreams, other ideas. As a result it’s often very difficult for the person himself to determine the true nature of his or her ideas - for what exactly is the idea, why did It occur, where did it come from, what made it so - and an impossible task for another person. And although I have my own version of this particular idea. Because it is an idea that many of us have, yet few of us dare to voice in a way that spells action and determination, including myself. There is one woman I know of that did just that. As a result I will leave it to her to explain.

What I do know are the consequences, particularly for myself. One consequence is that for the last 6 months we have been working towards a common goal. Or goals actually, because there have been many. Almost as many as there have been problems and a bit less as there have been solutions. At this point however, my almost fully packed backpack is standing in the hallway. Packed with everything that is needed for the coming months. Clothes, shoes, first aid kits, a tent, binoculars, a compass, survival kit, a knife, toilet articles, and much more. This makes it, even though I included only the most basic equipment carefully selected on quality and weight, quite heavy. Yet I like to believe I have packed quite a bit of other things as well, things that might reduce the weight and lift the burden on my shoulders, things that even though encumbered, will make me treat lightly on the roads I am about to walk. These dreams and possibilities, opportunities and visions, as I like to call them, coupled with a light hart unlimited optimism and steady determination will carry me towards any horizon, and beyond.

Johan


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb