Finally in Holland


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Limburg » Baarlo
May 6th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

  Wreaths for Sale  Wreaths for Sale Wreaths for Sale

Paper tulips, real flowers and lovely arrangements are available
And so it begins. Four hour delay in flight and then flying on a plane that required four hours of repair. One of the attendants said it was a small computer wire ... ???? .... . Finally on the plane in a seat with limited leg room, beside a big man with large elbows. With great anticipation i took out my wooden knitting needles and Noro wool in shades of morning mist BUT he back of seat in front of me was too close to be able to knit comfortably. For seven hours endured the closeness of a strange man (do not sleep so attached to my partner), watched one movie with sound and viewed the other two in silence between neck torturing sleep. Blankets and blowup neck rings were on sale for $7.

A warm meal was provided even though the voucher for $15 had been handed out. Breakfast came in a long rectangular box that would fit a foot long hotdog. Included was a yogurt, orange juice, a crisp cinnamon deep-fried bun and creamer for coffee.

No problem with plane in takeoff, flight or landing. Schiphol remains the best ever airport. Signage is excellent and there are
Limburg CountyLimburg CountyLimburg County

Finding limburg cheese is one of the goals. Although it has a mighty smell. My mother had to seal it in two jars so as not to stink up the fridge.
no difficulties in finding ones way. Info booths are prominent and helpful.

During the flight I discovered that I had taken with me the wrong envelope of money. So the 300Euros are at home and I have with me a wad of bills that I had collected for my friend during the Norway trip. The Currency Exchange agent did add up the denominations. She could not accept the Russian or Latvian bills but the rest came to 35euros. That was not an amount worth giving up the collection for. So the ATM/pinnen machine was approached for 150euros.

With train ticket in hand I made my way down to the track and waited 20 minutes. This is a train direct from the airport. It took me to my first destination, Venlo, two hours from Amsterdam across the breathe of Holland with only one transfer. This will be my last lament /comparison to rail service in Canada.

The pack was dropped at the Stationshotel Venlo which lies across the street from the rail station. The place is small with 'old' carpet. They have not had a restaurant for 14 years. The electric cords run along the walls under protective
The Tiger SuiteThe Tiger SuiteThe Tiger Suite

Careful assembly went into this.
housing so the actual hotel must be quite ancient. The tiny 'tiger' room, if the decor can be taken as a clue (lion portrait?, tiger painting, and tiger stripped pillow and lamp shade), had a shower and toilet en suite. Apparently it was a 65euro room that I was getting for 55euro. The towels appear as aged as the carpet.

All was clean and after 19 hours of travelling I was too grateful to be able to lie horizontally to complain about anything.

Without putting on an extra jacket I wandered into downtown Venlo to find food. The streets were full of people. Banners span the narrow streets to welcome tourists to Floriade, the horticultural exhibition held in Holland once every ten years. Gouda cheese from a cheese shop to commemorate my arrival in the Netherlands, tomato, buns and sliced meat fromthe 2Brothers grocery outlet were to be my evening/afternoon/evening meal, depending on time zone. Back in the 'tiger suite' it was time for a HOT shower. By now, walking and looking around had chilled me to the core. The damp and low temps have had their effect especially after leaving Toronto at 21 degrees centigrade.

The
Floriade Bus at StationFloriade Bus at StationFloriade Bus at Station

The bus, return, costs 3.50euro per day. Hope renting the bike is cheaper.
TV worked, The bed was warm. An electrical fire was averted and there was no hot water for a quick coffee. The electrical wand to heat water directly in a cup fried as soon as it was plugged in. Only after consuming my sparse repast did I read that smoking and eating in rooms was verboten! Too bad. The cheese was de-lish, the tomato from spain tasty and the sliced meat delicate and salty. Had to drink water from the tap because I will remain steadfast in my resolve not to buy water in a bottle.

What was on offer at the included-in-room-price was similar fare to what I had eaten the night before, sans the tomato, so breakfast was real quick and small. The coffee was good and I drank all of the sweetened fruit cocktail.

The breakfast room was full! The hotel man had told me that in April there had been 900 guest in his small hotel. I was in single room 14 on the top floor. Most rooms seem double. He must be fully booked. Its because of Floriade. The people at breakfast were talking about going to the event. An old man mentioned he was on his way so I followed him out and asked him about getting to the grounds of the exhibition. “Simple,” he said, “ take the bus at the train station.” True to his word, there it was, with an agent ready to give me info about how to get to Baarlo and Camping Heiderust.

For 4.50euro(day pass just in case I had to return to Venlo – regular fare 4.00euro) I boarded Buss 77. The bus driver had no clue where the camping was. I bided my time. When I saw a sign for the camp ground I alerted the bus driver and he let me off at the next stop. Walking back to the sign I hoped it was the entrance not just a warning of the eventual destination or an advertising. Finally a stroke of luck. There it was ...the entrance. And what is going on here? Two border collies are herding sheep into a container. Turns out the young man is the son of the man who owns Heiderust. Once introduced to the people who are supervising the camp ground I know I have arrived.

OK it is overcast with occasional spits of rain and I am lugging my pack but ... This is the beginning of my Floriade adventure!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.729s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 62; dbt: 0.2397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb