Kolasin: Day 32 to 35


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro » Kolašin
July 12th 2023
Published: July 16th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Biogradska Gora Biogradska Gora Biogradska Gora

The calming waters of Biogradska Gora
Kolasin is the ski resort destination of Montenegro and hence popular during the winters.

But I came in summer, to explore the nature around it.

I came to Kolasin through Pljevlja on the bus and saw the mosque and church of Pljevlja.

The place I was staying at in Kolasin was run by this ex-hiking guide who now is a Tango expert (apart from running the property). It seems Kolasin hosts a fairly large Tango festival (about 700 people had registered for a 14 day festival). Things you learn as you travel.

After resting the first day, I headed to Biogradska Gora, which is about 15KM from Kolasin. Biogradska Gora is one of the 3 remaining rainforests in Europe and the landscape is beautiful.

Again, I was hiking early morning and had the park to myself for almost the entire hike (saw people only while finishing my hike). I swam in the Biogradska River, which is a glacial river (so crystal clear and freezing). The walk around the lake was highly educational, with interactive boards at a few places to help tourists learn about the nature they are in. I loved that experience.

Next day,
Biogradska Gora Biogradska Gora Biogradska Gora

Biogradska Gora turns green with the reflections of the rainforest
I headed to the Bjelasica mountain for a hike. I took the Kolasin Ski lift (about 11KM away from Kolasin), and on the top, hiked to Zekova Glava (Glava means peak) and Pesica Lake. Zekova Glava has a military installation and you should not photograph there. But the hike itself is surrounded by lovely green fields on mountain slopes (you are basically hiking on a road next to a ski slope). And Pesica Lake is a small lake in the middle of the mountain. I had the entire place to myself (sharing with a duck family) and it was a surreal experience. In Montenegro, they call these lakes as eyes in the mountains because seen from the top, that's what they look like.

On my way back, some locals were selling fresh berry juice (wild picked) and I guzzled two bottles, thirsty from the hike.

While Kolasin is a ski destination, I found my experience of hiking there highly enriching for the soul.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Biogradska Gora Biogradska Gora
Biogradska Gora

Natural beauty of Biogradska Gora
Biogradska Gora Biogradska Gora
Biogradska Gora

Part of the trail around Biogradska Gora
Biogradska Gora Biogradska Gora
Biogradska Gora

Some trees are more than 300 years old
Bjelasica Mountain Bjelasica Mountain
Bjelasica Mountain

Zekova Glava in the Bjelasica Mountain
Bjelasica Mountain Bjelasica Mountain
Bjelasica Mountain

The trail to Zekova Glava
Bjelasica Mountain Bjelasica Mountain
Bjelasica Mountain

At 2,100 meters, some snow even in summer at Bjelasica Mountain
Bjelasica Mountain Bjelasica Mountain
Bjelasica Mountain

Pesica Lake in Bjelasica Mountain
Bjelasica Mountain Bjelasica Mountain
Bjelasica Mountain

Finishing off the hike with a fresh wild berry juice concoction from the locals


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 32; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb