Plav: Day 35 to 38


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro » Andrijevica
July 15th 2023
Published: July 16th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Plav Lake Plav Lake Plav Lake

Plav Lake, right in Plav town
Most people come to Plav to do the Peak of the Balkans hike, a multi-day, multi-country hike. And most locals I had interacted with had suggested that Plav is small but beautiful and definitely worth visiting.

I stayed at a lovely place near Plav Lake and explored just the town and the lake the first day. The hosts of the property had just started the property and it was great to see how the whole family were passionate about their guests and helping them any way they could.

Next day, I took a taxi to Gusinje, a town 15KM from Plav and then started hiking from there.

I visited Ali Pasha's spring first, which is close to Gusinje. Named after one of the Ottoman Commanders, this place with its clear spring waters was the meeting point for traders on the silk route.

I then hiked to the Gerla Waterfall, near the small village of Vusanje. On the way, I saw some small streams, met some hikers doing the Balkan Trail.

Gerla Waterfall is a powerful waterfall and you are on the top of the waterfall and get to look down with the blue waters splashing into
Hike from Gusinje to Ali Pasha's Spring Hike from Gusinje to Ali Pasha's Spring Hike from Gusinje to Ali Pasha's Spring

Hikes in Montenegro can show you varied views
the ground below.

Close to Gerla Waterfall, is Oko Skakavice (or Eye of the Grasshopper). It's a spring water body, stunning blue and green in color. I spent a long time admiring the place and also took a swim in its clear but cold waters (5-6 degrees celsius).

And then I was ready to hike back to Gusinje, about 7-8 KM back.

However, I bumped into two guys who offered me a ride in their car to Gusinje. I recognised one of guys as someone who I had seen at the waterfall and who was traveling with his daughter. And I had waited for him to finish clicking his daughter's pictures before I approached the waterfall. That small act of civility stuck in his head and he was kind enough to give the ride back. And interestingly, the other guy turned out to be someone who had visited India 8 times and could tell me about places in India that even I haven't been to 😊 My simple learning was that random acts of kindness were always the way all of us are meant to be. And the universe rewards that in its own way. Am thankful
Ali Pasha's Spring Ali Pasha's Spring Ali Pasha's Spring

Ali Pasha's Spring, a meeting point for traders of the Silk Route
to this family for the ride back.

I spent the next day doing some travel planning for my next destinations and just catching my breath.

Plav had indeed been one of the most beautiful places in Montenegro.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Gerla Waterfall Gerla Waterfall
Gerla Waterfall

Gerla Waterfall, powerful but amazing to watch
Gerla Waterfall Gerla Waterfall
Gerla Waterfall

The glacial waters that flow into Gerla Waterfall
Oko Skakavice Oko Skakavice
Oko Skakavice

Oke Skakavice, a natural spring of glacial waters
Oko Skakavice Oko Skakavice
Oko Skakavice

Oko Skakavice, one of the most stunning sites I have ever seen
Oko Skakavice Oko Skakavice
Oko Skakavice

To swim in these glacial waters of Oko Skakavice was a privilege


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb