Budva and Ostrog Monastery: Day 21 to 23


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro » Budva
June 28th 2023
Published: July 5th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Ballerina at BudvaBallerina at BudvaBallerina at Budva

Famous Ballerina statue at Budva
I came to Budva, a popular beach town in Southern Montenegro, having been told it's touristy.

The Old Town Budva was a nice little jaunt, but when I got to the beach, I realised what people meant by touristy. Beautiful as the waters were, the beach itself was small and filled with tourists. I did not spend much time there.

I decided next day to go to the Ostrog Monastery, the third most visited sacred place for Christians according to literature I read. Dedicated to Saint Basil of Ostrog, this monastery was founded in the 17th century and the current form was built in the 1920s.

I wanted to see this dramatic monastery built right into the mountains, but when I got there, I realised this place had amazing vibes. Saint Basil is known to perform miracles, especially for those that are unwell and throng is people from all faiths come there. Some of the frescoes inside had images which looked like Buddha and Indian sages, I pointed those out to the guide and even she was surprised.

Ostrog reaffirmed my belief that the truly spiritual people have figured all religions have the same message of path
Old town BudvaOld town BudvaOld town Budva

Old town Budva
to God.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Journey to Ostrog Monastery Journey to Ostrog Monastery
Journey to Ostrog Monastery

Journey to Ostrog Monastery
Ostrog Monastery Ostrog Monastery
Ostrog Monastery

Ostrog Monastery


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb