Final destination: Monaco


Advertisement
Monaco's flag
Europe » Monaco » Monte Carlo
May 19th 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

107107107

Almost there!!
we left Sanremo and drove back into France to get to Monaco, about a 40 minute drive - yes forty minutes to go from the Italian Riviera to the French Riviera.... Our hotel was not in Monte Carlo, but in Beausoleil, France. You could litterally walk into Monaco - which I did everyday! By the end of the week, I think I walked all of Monaco!!! It wasn't what I expected but it was nice nonetheless. I was expecting to see lots of glamourous and glitzy people walking the streets but instead i say lots of young people, in their early twenties. At a certain point, I actually felt like i was in Mexico on spring break surrounded by horney teens!!! As the week went by, we noticed more exotic cars around and things started to get more expensive. we went out for a drink on the Wednesday night, I had a Vodka orange, it was 12 euros, by Saturday, it was 18 euros!!!!!
I went to see Greg on a few occations at the garage and I watch the race from there which was cool. I even had the headsets so I could hear everything being said by the engineers,
109109109

Manaco in the distance....
Flavio and the drivers, which was amazing. Too bad we only came in 7th place.... I wasn't able to go to the Ferrari garage because i had a limited pass so I pretty much had to stay in Renault garage or get kick out! On race day I had breakfast in the moterhome with everyone, 2 tables away from me was Flavio himself.... I didn't get a chance to see Fernando other than on race day because of the set up of the moterhome and the garage, normally the moterhomes are behind the garages, but here they are in the marina area. Hopefully I will get a chance to meet him in Spain!!! I actually spoke to Rob White, he asked me how high Flavio's wife's heels were - they were very very high! Greg was invited on Flavio's boat - employees only (darn!!). It did feel kind of cool when i would go see Greg, I would wait by the fence where the drivers had to pass, so you could imagine all the people waiting there to try to get a picture or an autograph from them, here I was just standing there, then Greg would come and I
112112112

Getting closer
would be lead through the fence, like someone important, all eyes on me!!! I actually felt at home there, maybe because I could communicate in french and italian, only one person realize I was from Quebec!! I met a lovely couple: Adrian and Emma, he is from Edenburrow Scotland and she is from Dublin Ireland. They now live in Nice and they have invited us to go visit them!! I can't say no to that!!!! Hope you enjoy the pictures!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

113113
113

passing through Beausoleil
114114
114

The street towards our hotel...


Tot: 0.384s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb