The Great Escape, Part 2


Advertisement
Moldova's flag
Europe » Moldova » Centre » Chisinau
August 26th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello readers, from Adrienne.

As you know we have been working with 2 year olds for the past few days. For some reason, however, they play with the 6 and 7 year olds, which has created some difficulties because the older kids want to be picked up and held, just like we do with the little ones. Their neediness is heartbreaking--they are like 3 year olds in 6 year old bodies.

For some reason, today was extra chaotic. The older kids were REALLY wanting us to hold them, and were pulling on our arms and calling to us in Romanian. By 10:30, everyone was extra tired and cranky--we're not sure why today was different than the rest. The little ones were crying and saying "mama" over and over, and the older ones were throwing things and pulling on us (and Wendy's hair) from all directions. The caregivers for both groups were off on a bench, talking and ignoring the chaos.

I was in the wooden playpen, holding one of the girls, when I noticed two of our 2 year olds going inside the building. I jumped out of the pen and ran after them, where I saw there were actually FOUR little ones inside. One boy was halfway up the stairs when I came in! He came downstairs when he saw me and joined the others. I was trying to round them up to go back outside, but one of the took off and started running down the hall. So of course, the other three follow. At this time I'm debating on whether I should run outside and get help, or follow them to make sure they don't fall down or go somewhere they aren't supposed to. I turned to look at the door, and FOUR MORE little ones have followd me in!

Guess what they do? They take off after the other four and proceed to run down the hall, screaming and laughing the entire time. They love to be chased, so I didn't want to run after them and make this even more of a game. So I walked briskly, calling out their names. I can say "Let's all play together" and "You're a good girl" in Romanian, but I cannot say "Stop right there and turn around or you will be sorry." I kept turning around to see if a caregiver has noticed her charges were missing from the playground, but I was still alone. We ran through the maze of the building, and the girl in the lead reached a door to the other play area. At that very moment, a caregiver rounds the corner and proceeds to admonish them in Romanian and get them to turn back around. This help would have been much appreciated about 5 minutes ago! I grabbed the girl whose hand is on the outside door and dragged her after me. The little ones are marched upstairs to their room, where I wave after them.

I turned to Wendy and let my anger fly. I couldn't believe that no one noticed the kids were gone for so long! And what if someone had fallen down and busted their chin or something? Was I responsible? I am sure one day I will laugh about this story, because honestly it was cute how they were laughing and running down the hall, but now is not that time. So Grrr...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb