Made it to Malta


Advertisement
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta
April 19th 2008
Published: April 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all-

Well we finally arrived to Malta last night around 10 pm Malta time (3 pm MN time). Lots of airline time and airport time. We had a taxi waiting for us to take us directly to SImon's Pub. It was great to taste a Cisk (Chisk) again. As I have told people it is like PBR with lemon. We slept in this morning, took a quick walk around Sliema to the market and are now wandering the streets of Valetta, the capital city. I forgot how jam packed everything is here. Front doors open right up to the street and I have to turn sideways to get in them! ANyways, that's all I got, Lyndsay is up next and since I am to cheap to pay 2 Euro for 45 minutes we only got 15 minutes. Later

Jason


HI all - Lyndsay here! Ok, let me begin with the flights over here - I have never flown internationaly before - and I felt like it was first class. You get to drink for free, though I only had 1 glass of wine. Then, you get individual TV's in the seat with you - and unlimited choices of movies, music, etc ... I SHOULD have slept on the 9 hour flight to Amsterdam, but I wanted to maximize my movie consumption! Malta is BEAUTIFUL! I will never be able to descibe it - but it has very old structural details and everything seems to be made of limestone. I am now hooked on the Cisk beer. Delicious! The sad part though is that everything here is BREAD, BREAD, BREAD. I swear to god, all I have eaten is like a loaf of bread. I suppose I will come home woth an extra 10 pounds of weight just due to bread. They serve it with everything - it is actually like tapsa plates - just oiled and seasoned bread.
I am on a kick to take pictures of the cool door knockers on the residential front doors. Not sure that I have a alot of time to type as our time is running out - but wanted touch base and let everyone know we are ok and loving the trip so far! We are heading to the lcoal fish market tommorrow to explore and then on Monday we head to Gozo - a island beach just north of Malta. I WILL get my sun worshipping time in on this trip somehow!

Love you all. Check back soon!

Lyndsay


PS: To those who know what "wiggy" is (our Nickname for our dog Walter) - there is a local restaurant called "Wigi's"

Advertisement



20th April 2008

Cisk and Simon's Bread
Ah...Howard's. It sounds like the Cisk is still flowing like wine and Simon's bread is instinctively flocking to your bellies like the salmon of Capistrano. I'm definitely jealous you made it back there before me, but so happy for you guys. Is simon's bread still the same? Just as great? Jason have you got Lyndsay to try snooker yet? I hope you guys have some wonderful times Motor-in' around Gozo and perhaps Jason you may even think about singing a little Sister Christian while boppin' around the islands for me and James (if Lyndsay can tolerate your tone deaf singing). Have a great trip I can't wait to hear more. Please cheers a cisk for me and the whole Malta crew from the spring of 1999. It's been 9 years...wow. Shannon
21st April 2008

Wiggy
He's doing just fine at our place. Landlord was showing our apartment yesterday so we had to get him out of the house...I took him around the lake at Como...then Mike took him for a long walk later in the afternoon. You thought he was a lazy dog before...after those two walks it was like he was hit with a tranquilizer dart.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb