I'll miss you Malta!


Advertisement
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta » Malta » La Valletta
July 29th 2010
Published: July 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mosta CathedralMosta CathedralMosta Cathedral

Here is where a bomb was dropped through the dome during Mass in the summer of 1942 - it miraculously didn't explode and no one got hurt!
My last couple of days in Malta! I can't believe it.

It has been so busy these past few days. So a very quick update...

Last weekend, my friend Andrew and I took the ferry over to Sicily. It was amazing. The food was phenomenal and we ate a disgusting amount of gelato, pastries, cheeses, etc. We spent our time mostly in Catania exploring around, visiting the churches, wandering the markets and sipping cappuccinos in the town square. We also rented a scooter for a day and drove up the coast which was a fabulous way to see the island... down country back roads with Mount Etna on our left and the sea on our right. Amazing. We also went up Mount Etna and hiked around the site of the 2002 eruption. I have never scampered around amongst lava rocks and through deep tunnels called lava tubes so it was quite an experience. We were supposed to go home Sunday night, but due to bad weather, our ferry was unexpectedly cancelled so back to the hostel we went and instead, we were able to spend another night people watching and drinking delicious Sicilian wine all night!

Back in Malta, I've finished up at the hospital and am spending my final days wandering about being a tourist. Yesterday, we went to the Hypogeum - one of Malta's ancient temple sites. This one in particular was built underground within the natural rock, dug out with stone tools in 3600 BC! I couldn't wrap my head around the dates of its construction as we toured the site. It was just amazing to feel the dampness and experience the dark and cool temples. They are older than the pyramids! It boggles my mind.

Anyway, this week I've been hitting up the beach to soak up the last of the Mediterranean sun (although I will be getting much more in Morocco!). At night, we've been going out a lot too now that the hospital placements are winding down. Malta is a fantastic place to go out at night. There is this one area called Paceville where the streets are lined with clubs that well-heeled girls and collar-popped guys wander (or stagger!) in and out of with their drinks. It's a really fun atmosphere and usually our nights don't end until well into the next morning.

Now, I've been planning our next adventure in Morocco which I'm super excited about! It's been a blast living here for a month. I'm so glad that I had the opportunity to do this exchange. I can't imagine having spent the month in small-town northern Ontario instead (although I do love it there!!!).

Thanks for reading my blog - sorry this entry is so short and rushed. I'm anxious to get out of the air conditioning and onto the beach! haha

Take care and email me if you can!



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

CannoliCannoli
Cannoli

This picture doesn't do this tasty treat justice - it's this pastry packed full of rich chocolate custard with almonds and other nuts. SO GOOD!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb