GOZO


Advertisement
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta » Gozo
June 14th 2009
Published: June 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 67


Today I met Roger down at the ferry dock for our trip over to Gozo. Once we got there and had booked ourselves into the hostel we started to walk into the capital Vittiros. We didn't make it too far before catching a ride on one of the Gozo buses. Once in town we headed to the tourist office for maps and alist of things we could amuse ourselves with.
Our first stop was to check out the main Cathedral in town. We didn't go inside but instead walk around the outside and visited all of the small craft and souvenir shops. next we decided to go out and check out the old temple ruins. Well they turned out to be a little bit of a let down and no different to any of the other temples I had already seen on the main land. On the way back to the hostel we stopped off at the local supermarket to grab food for dinner ect.
That night we realised we were the only two people in the hostel they were having a VERY quite week.

Day 68


We were up early today to head out to Azhere's Window down by the sea. It was unfortunately way too rough for us to be able to go out and visit the window from the sea so we needed to be content with our view from the land. Our next stop on the itinerary was a the Pinu Temple which has been established on the spot where Cameilia Grima had seen a vision of Mary. Of course when we arrive the temple had just closed for lunch so we headed up the nearby hill which had statues up the path depicting the last journey of Christ. At the top of this hill was a massive cross and an open air church. Once we descended the temple had reopened and we were able to enter. After a browse around we headed back into Victorrios. Here Roger and I parted ways as he was due to fly out the next day.
That night I spent in the hostel alone!!! Over 100 beds and I was the only on there!!

Day 69


Dawned bright and sunny and I decided to head over the smaller island Comino for the day. On the way over I got chatting to the volunteers that worked in the old watch tower on the island. Once we arrived we went our separate ways and I went on a tour of the caves surrounding the island. Afterwards i then started off on my walk around the island. Along the way I visited the watch tower, which offered superb views, the old gunnery and church. I also managed to laze on a beach in the sun and finally paddle in the blue lagoon watching out for the occasional jellyfish.
All of this relaxing in the sun bought me up to the late afternoon where I then returned to my empty hostel to spend a lonely night.

Day 70


Today was my last day both on Gozo and in Malta!! I had been lucky enough for my cousin's to offer me a lift to the airport and therefore had the whole day to amuse myself.
I was feeling a little sore after my day in the sun and went off to buy the most expensive sunscreen ever!!! Anyway I had decided to see Calypso's Cave and then walk down the Ramla Bay for the morning before catching the ferry back to the mainland in the afternoon. I however never made it to the beach but instead got a fantastic view of it up from Claypso's Cave. It had turned out that because of the infrequency of the buses and the amount of walking I would need to do I wouldn't make it back in time to meet Michelle back on the Tarxien.
When I finally made it to our meeting spot Michelle took me back to her place where I met her family and had good fun looking through family photos, while waiting for Clifton to finish work. We then went to visit their house that they had bought and were renovating before they move into it after their wedding. For dinner we headed out to Marsalokk where we had a great seafood dinner. We still had a couple of hours left before I needed to be at the airport for my flight to Greece so we went to a couple of local clubs.
Before we knew it was time for me to be at the airport and checked in to start my next adventure!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb