First Snow & Host Family


Advertisement
Macedonia's flag
Europe » Macedonia
December 1st 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The novelty of snow will probably wear out soon. Kratovo, my new city is really cold and icy. I will be moving there in 2 weeks. I'll miss my host family. They have been extremely warm and helpful to me and are absolutely hilarious and loving people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

MAJKA & TATKOMAJKA & TATKO
MAJKA & TATKO

Cuttin' up some veggies and making Russian salad.
My Host BrothersMy Host Brothers
My Host Brothers

The one on my left is Nikola and the other is Simon. Nikola is studying economics in Prilep & Simon is still in high school but is super involved in theater & the Red Cross.
Saint Dimitri Name DaySaint Dimitri Name Day
Saint Dimitri Name Day

In Macedonia there is a name day everyday of the year where a saint is celebrated. My host cousin's name is Dimitri so we were celebrating him. The extended family is just as funny and hospitable as my nuclear host family. Here I am dancing an ORO with the extended family who live in Volandavo. My host mother's brother-in-law makes amazing RAKYA (kind of like whiskey) too.
Saint Dimitri Name DaySaint Dimitri Name Day
Saint Dimitri Name Day

My host brother & mother w/ the extended cousins.
ThanksgivingThanksgiving
Thanksgiving

Sorry the photo is fuzzy. It was really fun with the whole entire Peace Corps Macedonia crew. They ordered alot of turkeys and we all brought a side dish.


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb