FYR of Macedonia trip


Advertisement
Macedonia's flag
Europe » Macedonia » Skopje
August 26th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip

Driving up to the mountains for a week of skiing high above Tetovo, Macedonia.
Ive been to the Former Yugoslav. Rep. of Macedonia 4 times, this is my last trip there. The people of Macedonia are very friendly and inquisitive they will ask you many questions trying to get to know you. Everyone wants to learn English it seems. I met lots of friends in Macedonia and actually made friends with a small family in Tetovo, which is a small town near the capital of Skopje. This is a budget friendly place, prices are very low compared with Western Europe or even the USA. The family I met on the train from Thessaloniki, Greece has invited me back to the FYR of Macedonia to stay with them and help me get to know the rest of Macedonia. The skiing in the mountains is lots of fun too. Well i've attached some photos of my last visit to Macedonia. If you have any questions just ask me.

The way that I met this family was kinda sad, I was on a train from Thessaloniki, Greece to Budapest via some Eastern European countries. On the way over from Greece I had a compartment all to myself. After awhile a family came and knocked on the door
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip

The family that I met on the train from Greece to Macedonia, im in the middle :)
and asked if they could come inside since it was terribly cold out in the hallway of the unheated train. I said c'mon inside I have plenty of room to share. The son which was Nenad was the only one to speak English out of the family. He started explaining to me that His father had taken his family on a much saved up for vacation to Greece. Once the family got to Thessaloniki they tried to get a hotel and no one would rent them a hotel room because they were Macedonian nationality! So after a whole night of trying to get a place to stay they decided it would be best to ditch the idea of visiting Greece and return home to Tetovo, Macedonia. So after this family had saved a very long time to go on a vacation, they were denied a place to stay just because of their nationality, which sucks in my opinion. This man had taken his whole family to Greece and they treated him that way, its horrible to say the least! So thats the story how I met this family. Its weird that the MOST hospitable family can be treated the worst
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip

This is Nenad the guy I met on the train coming from Greece.
possible way that anyone can be treated.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

Skiing on the mountain
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

The govt. owned ski resort we stayed at
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

WoW yes its as cold as it looks
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

ITS COOOOOLD up here
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

Inside one of the monasteries in Macedonia
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

Along the roadway in Tetovo
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

Outside the trainstation in Tetovo
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

At the local butcher shop
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

My legs wont hardly fit in the tiny car outside my friends apt. building
FYR of Macedonia tripFYR of Macedonia trip
FYR of Macedonia trip

They even took me out to a nice restaurant on my last night in Tetovo, you cannot beat the hospitality of these people and the Minovski family.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb