Trakai and Vilnius


Advertisement
Lithuania's flag
Europe » Lithuania » Trakai
July 4th 2015
Published: July 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Biked about 25 miles today for a total of 457 miles.

Sunny and hot today. Reached nearly 90 F.

Ate breakfast at our flat. We had picked our bikes last night at the bike shop here in Vilnius.

They gave us great directions to get to Trakai. We followed as prescribed until I noticed my day backpack had slipped out of my rear rack spring loaded clamp. This has credit cards, ID, money and iPhone in it. I had to double back to finding before some vagrant struck it rich. After about 2 miles there it lay on the sidewalk, untouched. Had a bit of a scare. From here on I cared it on my back, even though it was a very hot day and this increased perspiration considerably.

The ride to Trakai was fun and interesting after my episode with the backpack. The sun beat down on us the whole day. We were hoping we could stay in shade, but this route did not provide much shade.

Trakai park is was introduced to us from the southern route which afforded us a beautiful view of the castle, shore and grounds.many people were her vacations also. This is quite a complex. Reminds me of Lake Bled in Slovenia, except this is in Lithuainia.

Pam swam in the clear waters 3 times , while I swam once. This lowered our core temperatures considerably.

The plan was to bike.To the Trakai area and either bike or train back. The times of the trains had changed and we could early or late and risk having the bike shop closed. The ride back would have been in the hottest part of the day. We decided to take the train back early. The trains are very slow in Lithuania. Upon arrival, I discovered that I had a rear flat tire. Glad it happened at the train station in Vilnius. Walked the bike to bike shop. Got a new bike and biked for a few hours along the Vilnel River.

Cleaned up at our apartment and went out to eat at our neighborhood German restaurant. I had Jagerschnitzel and Pam had parchment fish. Had a great white Mosel wine for dinner.

Beautiful warm night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb