Onto new shores (Klaipeda, Lithuania)


Advertisement
Lithuania's flag
Europe » Lithuania » Klaipeda
April 16th 2008
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(Day 12 on the road)From Berlin I took the train up to the island of Ruegen in the north of Germany, and from there I caught a ferry to Klaipeda in Lithuania.

The ferry ride was smooth. The only time a bit of action arose when I decided to burn a piece of paper in my cabin. The crew of the vessel were not amused at all about this, as I soon found out when about seven crew-members appeared outside my door :-)

After mediterranean Antalya and hip Berlin, Klaipeda was somewhat of an anticlimax. The guidebook I was reading called it a "grim" city, and this fits it very well. Apart from the small yet pretty old city center, there was nothing really that caught my eye. So after a visit to the rather famous Curonian Spit, a small island just off the coast of Klaipeda mostly famous for its elongated sand dune and listed as a UNESCO world heritage site, I decided to move on.

Next stop: Vilnius (Lithuania).



To view my photos, have a look at pictures.beiske.com. And to read the full account of my journey, have a look at the complete book about my trip at Amazon (and most other online book shops).





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



18th April 2008

Skinhead adventures
Hey skinhead suits u! Keep us posted on ur adventures.
18th April 2008

Hey Hey, I will!
Ann, dont you worry about that. Hey, still not too late for St. Petersburg, give it a go!
9th May 2008

Klaipeda pictures
Hallo, I recognize the places where you have taken the pictures :) Look at the map. Grown in Klaipeda

Tot: 0.541s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 37; qc: 171; dbt: 0.2829s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb