Sentimental thoughts


Advertisement
Latvia's flag
Europe » Latvia
August 15th 2010
Published: August 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

AliseAliseAlise

Children listen to "Alise" story. Alise is also sitting on my lap.
I am home now and have begun piecing together my thoughts about the trip to Lativa. My husband asked me when I got home what my favorite part of the trip was. I thought for awhile. There were so many great things that narrowing it down to one was difficult. Instead I made a prioritized list.

#3 was being at Ratnieke, which is near Tukums. There the children had lots of room to play outside and be kids. I enjoyed watching the girls pick berries and the boys make swords and play guns out of scrap wood. It is good to be in nature and let God's creation speak to us.

#2 was being with my church family in Bauska. It broadened my understanding of how big God is and how faithful He is. My faith was stretched because I saw people with less than I have rejoicing and serving God. I have much to be thankful for.

#1 was being with the children at the orphanage. Due to the careworker shortage at the orphanage (many were on holiday), we were much-neede to help take care of the children. We were each assigned two or three children to
SonitaSonitaSonita

Sonita reads "Alise" in Latvian to the children.
care for. My two were Dans and Alise. They are special, beautiful children who have a bright future. I learned so much from seeing children who have had rough lives but have let God heal them. Now they are instruments of the Lord. I got to hear my story, "Alise" read to the children in Latvian and they colored pictures for it. It was beautiful to see the full cycle of stepping out in faith to something God has planted in your heart, like the story.

More closing thoughts to come as I process them...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

ColoringColoring
Coloring

Coloring pictures to illustrate story with Dans, Alise, and myself.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb