Kosovo Bound...Finally!


Advertisement
Europe » Kosovo » East
October 27th 2009
Published: October 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! What a big day yesterday was for me. I am a soldier! Yippee! All that fun training, the running with the soldiers, the getting drenched in the rain. It was worth every bruise, bump and tired feeling I’ve had since July. I am so lucky I get to fulfill my dream of being all HOOAH like everybody else I know.

Here’s the best part though. When the General swore me into the army and made me a Corporal he gave me a congratulations present as well. I get to ride to Kosovo in a helicopter! Can you believe it? Me, little Dobie, or should I say, Corporal Dobie, gets to fly in a chopper!

It should take me a few days and by the time I get there all the soldiers will have arrived from Germany. Then we all get to do our nine plus months together at a really cool base camp. I even hear that there is a big messhall that serves five types of ice cream, a workout gym with lots of new equipment and thousands of new people I can talk to! It doesn’t get much better than that!

I feel kinda bad because I am leaving Davina and her logistics buddies in Germany to finish closing down the training camp. They have to do the usual things like, mop floors, clean vehicles, turn in all the radio’s and phones and the biggest job, to get all those bus loads of soldiers to the airport and onto the planes. They have been working hard for days and I am sure will be ready for a day off by the time they actually get to Kosovo.

So, I must go for now. I have my flight gear on and I’m outta here.

See everybody downrange!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb