Dobie's Big day!...


Advertisement
Europe » Kosovo » East
October 27th 2009
Published: October 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

“Dobie, Report to the Commanding General,” I heard yelled over the stir of the crowd. We were all standing in an impromptu formation and all of a sudden all the soldiers eyes went forward. Dobie looked at me, looked at the General and turned back at me to give me a small sheepish smile. I knew he was nervous when I saw his hands lightly shaking as he gave the General a very crisp salute. I knew something big was up yesterday when I had found a small package outside my room and it was labeled with Dobie’s name on it. Dobie grabbed it and asked me to leave the room.

When he came out I was astonished at the sight of my little buddy. There he was dressed in a little uniform, complete with boots, a belt and a cool drill sergeant hat. He strutted as he walked out of the room. Gosh, he looked like a soldier and had an air about him that was unmistakably that of a confident and well collected soldier. Then he read the note, “Report to the 1100 formation.” He just smiled and then took off to show all his army friends his new digs.

So as I looked at him standing in front of the General in front of hundreds of soldiers I was happy that he was actually getting to do something that all soldiers dream of, be the center of attention in a sea of his peers. “Attention to Orders,” the Captain yelled out. Oh my goodness, this can’t be real. I Could hardly hold my excitement back. The General is going to swear Dobie into the military.

“Dobie, raise your right hand and repeat after me,” the General said. Dobie’s little hand darted up and I could see him fidget a little. Then he quickly jerked his head around and searched me out, giving me a quick wink before he swung around to refocus his attention on the General. The General started, “I, state your name.” Dobie repeated after him, “I Dobie”. Do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States.” Dobie took a big breath and steadied himself, “Do solemnly swear to that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States.” “and the State of North Dakota”, the General smiling through his words. I could hear Dobie’s excitement as he proudly repeated, “and the GREAT State of North Dakota!” After a light chuckle from the General he continued, “Against all enemies, foreign and domestic and that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same.” I could see Dobie breathe deep and start that last sentence and then he looked up with forgiveness in his eyes and said, “Sir, could you please repeat that last sentence, it was a bit too long?” Everybody in the crowd giggled and so did the General. We all knew how hard it was to memorize those long sentence structures, be really nervous and then still have the ability to repeat them back word for word. Dobie and the General continued on with the oath of enlistment, and as I looked at my little friend I thought about how lucky Dobie was to be getting this opportunity.

He was a part of military history. A history that dates back to the Revolutionary War. On 14 June 1775, the Continental Congress established different oaths for the enlisted men of the Continental Army, and it was then that the first oath was established. Since that day millions of men and women have raised their right hands and been sworn into one of the military branches of service. Through peacetime and wartime there have been people from every walk of life, every social class, draftees and volunteers who have stood proudly in front of an officer and said the enduring words. Some stay for a career and some serve short hitches, but no matter what their individual story is, all have made a difference in the world.

So as I heard Dobie state the final sentence, “That I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the Officers appointed over me.” I wondered how many others had gotten a little lump in their throat. How many others had been as excited as him to make a difference, or how many others got those patriotic goose bumps when they repeated the final four words… So help me God.

It was over, Dobie had finished the oath, he had followed the General’s words, and as Dobie turned around to face the crowd of soldiers I could sense his pride. His dream had come true. He had trained hard, learned how to be part of the team and showed that he was soldier material.

The General shook Dobie’s hand in congratulations and Dobie wisely saluted the General. As Dobie went to walk away, the General hollered out to him, “Hey Dobie, you did such a great job during training that I am going to start you off as a Corporal. I believe in promoting people for their potential and buddy, I think you have potential to do a lot of great things on this deployment to Kosovo. Welcome to the Army National Guard!”

What a great way to end our training in Germany. Welcome to Dobie’s deployment…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb