My home in Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
January 29th 2017
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 41.8919, 12.5113

Some of you expressed interested in seeing my apartment in Rome so here it is. It is a small, one bedroom in Aurelia which is an area west of the Vatican. I am about 2 blocks from the Metro station and have gotten quite good at getting around on it. I typically go to a stop nearest the area I plan to explore and then do a lot of walking before heading to whatever Metro is closest to where I end up to head home. I am very much enjoying this life and love to share my experiences so I appreciate those of you who have let me know you are following my blog etc.

Since this is a short posting I will ramble on a bit about some observations I have. Italians never seem to be in a hurry to get anywhere except when entering and exiting the Metro. It is the only time I see people running which I don't really understand since the trains run every 3-4 minutes. They are also, in general, friendly and patient. The exception here is in traffic when someone doesn't move as soon as a light changes to green. Interestingly they don't block intersections - at least in most areas of Rome and only blow their horns if someone does something stupid like turn right out of a far left hand lane. In such a big city with so much traffic you would expect it to be noisier with horns blowing all the time. I assume there must be an ordinance against it.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



30th January 2017

I love following your trip and experiences! Thank you for sharing!
30th January 2017

I love this, its' so bright and cheery and comfortable all at once. Photos of kitchen please.
30th January 2017

Lovely! I love the pop of color on the chairs!
30th January 2017

I love this! I took a picture on my phone - we are redoing bathrooms so looking for ideas!
7th February 2017

Carole - what will you miss most about living in Rome when you get back home? And what do you miss about home now? One day I hope to have a similar experience, so I was wondering about some of the everyday details of living in a European
city. Love following your blog!! Enjoy your last week before jetting off to your next stop!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb