Dee's Perspective


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
May 22nd 2013
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 44.3522, 9.2308

From Dee:It has been a wonderful stay in France. The Dordogne area is wonderful and the people are very nice. The owners of the B & B were wonderful although they spoke very little English. Phillip always wanted to talk to us about our adventures and was always apologizing for his ability to communicate with us. Of course, we were not apologizing for our limited French. They were very gracious with our antics. Our rooms seemed to always be burning out light bulbs, we asked them to reboot their Wi-Fi a few times, used a cooler for our day trip sodas and I broke my shower curtain holder. We are traveling back to the airport to catch our flight to Italy. We stopped off in Sarlat for market day and of course bought more food than we can eat…and stopped at a couple patisseries for some sugary goodness. The last couple of the stops were for pictures only because there is only so much sugar one can consume. Chris and Dot are focused on the drive and Mary is taking a little rest in the car. Sugar overload I wonder…probably not…she has been the best behaved with consumption this week out of all of us. Dot tries to not buy the sweet stuff because she will eat it all….and usually tries to get someone to split with her…so she doesn't. Chris is selective enough (picky…no nuts, no combinations) to control herself. Me…I'm all over the place and top it off with an ice cream (Glaces) chaser…yum! Lunch today…in the car or Hertz rental place or a gas stations stop are all the possible locations talked about…it will be bread with a gigantic piece of cheese and 15 mini sausage links, garlic olives (which I finally broke down and bought from a friendly English speaking girl) with olive tamponade, which I know Chris will have none of. I have enjoyed the French language and learning a little but if anyone speaks to me (or Dot),I (We) get a blankpanicked look on my (our) face and look at Chris or Mary to translate. My French includes Bonjour and Merci…. although I get really excited when I can pick out another word or two I have learned along the way. On our drive we started reviewing Italian. We had to know how to ask for tap water for Dot. I now know how to say hello and thank you in Italian…that will probably be the extent what I will say. Chris and Mary will be the best at it again. The flight was unexciting and efficient except for the little lady behind me that was pushing the cattle (me) along with her purse. There was a flight attendant that spoke very good English and we purchased our bus passes from. The bus ride to the train station was a little more exciting with the bus driver discussing loudly with a passenger to move her computer case out of the walk way. He had to tell her three times. There was also another load discussion between a guy and a girl. The only conversation that did not sound like a fight was an English speaking American about work…oh that was Chris😉 Two-hour train ride to Rapallo was very nice with Chris's hot spot. We were all on our computer, kindle or iPads. It made the trip very quick. We only had to worry about getting off at the correct train stop and finding our hotel. All in all the day of travel was very good and we are here for a few days. Luckily there is a market day in Rapallo tomorrow. More Fun!


Advertisement



23rd May 2013

Thanks, Dee. It's good to get another viewpoint. Sounds like you're really enjoying the food. Have fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!
25th May 2013

I WAS the best behaved until we got to Italy! You guys corrupted me! :P

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb