Rain, rain: go away!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
May 15th 2010
Published: June 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 44.1464, 9.65572

Another rainy, rainy day. We left Rome around 8:00 and drove to Levanto, where we caught a train to Monterosso al Mare, one of the Cinque Terre towns. I snoozed quite a lot on the bus, and I don't think I missed much in the way of scenery. What there was, was hard to see through all the rain anyway.

At midday, we stopped in the Tuscan hill town of Massa Marittima. It's very small, and the central piazza looks a bit like a Hollywood movie set. The church and bishop's house sit up on a high platform above the piazza, and around it are ridiculously old buildings that have cafes and shops at street level. Several of us had lunch at I Tre Archi; I had penne all'arrabbiata again. It was a little spicier than the dish I had last night, but more al dente.

We had two hours in town, and lunch didn't last quite an hour. It was so rainy and cold that I didn't do the walk up to the town wall. I started out to do it, but I got distracted by a staircase that curved around between two buildings. It didn't lead to much of anything, but I did get a good view of some backyards. I think it would be so strange to live in an old town like that. Imagine having tourists tromping by outside your bathroom window.

I stopped into a shop and bought some locally made soap – it's got cinnamon in it and smells so good! It was €4.50, and all I had was a twenty. The shopkeeper was able to give me €10.50, but then he and his girlfriend had to go searching through their own wallets for a five euro note. This happens quite a lot in smaller places. I suppose I could have bought another bar of soap just to make things easier, but my suitcase is getting quite stuffed as it is. (And having said that, I also stopped in another shop to buy a magnet.)

We got to our hotel in Monterosso around 5:45. It's the Hotel Punta Mesco, and my room is on the ground floor (no stairs!) with a small patio. What with all the rain though, I highly doubt I'll be sitting out there at all. There is also a colony of very chirpy birds living right outside. I hope they like to sleep in.
The bathroom is the best one yet. There's all kinds of counter space, and there's even a sort of alcove counter in the shower. All it needs is one more towel bar and maybe a hook, and it would be perfect. (I do have to reserve final judgment till I see how the shower goes in the morning.)
Am waiting around now till we all go to dinner at 7:00. Also, must find out if there is wi-fi.

LATER: Toooooo much wine ...



Advertisement



17th May 2010

Ahhh, Italy! I so need to get back there. How funny that you've had so much rain. When my Mom and I were there it was November, and we only had 2 days of rain the whole time! It was funny, when you said about the security check at St Pe
ters I was thinking, "what security check?" Then I remembered we had been there before 9/11. Different world. Hope you got some good sleep and a good shower in Monterosso...

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb