We All Smile in the Same Language: Musings on overcoming the language barrier


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
January 3rd 2017
Published: January 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Having toured Rome and Venice at a sprint these last few days, one realization that has really struck me is how easy it can initially seem to overcome the language barrier here. Now, if one needed to have a complex conversation, was experiencing an emergency, or dealing with anything of the like then the language barrier seems to grow as tall of The Great Wall of China; however, when simply asking for a directions, buying food, or reserving a room in a hostel, the language barrier felt permeable and flexible. They spoke in Italian, and I in English or (poor) French. Nevertheless the gist of the conversation was followable despite our different languages. I got my food, and they received their money. Somehow, everyone was content. Perhaps a few confused or blank glances were shared, but at the end everything worked out.

When in France my first time, the language barrier seemed immense; I practically sprained my neck trying to see above that confusing wall of miscommunication. Around me was a sea of voices, yet none I could understand. Having never been abroad, I was too used to giving up and using English as a crutch when practicing my foreign languages; here, that realization struck me like an arrow. Once, when simply trying to order falafel from a restaurant that would only allow you to order falafel to-go and eat chocolate mousse there in the store, I became so confused and stressed that my face flushed and I nearly just gave up and walked out. I kept trying to have Samuel reason with them to just let us eat the chocolate mousse first, and then we would buy the falafel to-go, however everything was a jumble of words spewing forth. Before me stood an insurmountable wall, and I knew that I lacked the ability to express myself, and that I had to be reliant on the ability of others. This wall only became taller when listening to the conversations of Samuel’s family, and I could see no grip by which I could begin to climb. Yet those few cherished words that passed over the great language barrier filled me with gratitude and fueled me to work harder to understand without relying upon Samuel.

During this trip to Italy, I watched the language barrier be demolished by smiles, laughs, and music. It reminded me of this phrase worn on the group sweatshirts of some of the students studying abroad at my university during my first year: “We all smile in the same language”. No matter where we were born, what languages we speak, what heritage we hold, we all smile, and we all laugh. As I sat in the train station, I watched a twenty or so year old girl from South Korea play the piano for a young Italian girl who danced to the music. Neither spoke, yet they understood one another clearly as the older girl played piano, and the younger girl danced ballet.




Now, today I can smile as I think of how differently I handled the language barrier in Italy. No longer was I frustrated, for I remembered that everyone smiles in the same language.









(More details on the trip to Italy to come.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.462s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb