Rimini to Milan to Nice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
February 15th 2016
Published: February 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Monday February 15 2016 – So today really was just a train day, for the most part. Anchise drove me to the train station in Rimini at 9:10, which was so nice. I got there early and had some time to kill before my 9:51 train to Milan. The train ride was four hours, disappointing, since my train from Milan to Rimini was only two hours, but this one had a lot more stops. I did some reading, which was nice. For lunch I ate a large focaccia bread I bought at the grocery store last night. Then I made a plan for Milan. I decided that if the train got in early enough, I would get the subway to Duomo, the large catherdral. I only had just about 90 minutes between trains, but I thought I could do it if all worked out. And it did (see Milan blog).

On the next train to Nice, I had five hours. I had a seat next to just one man, rather than in a group of four. I preferred it and actually had more space. I had to go backwards for the first two hours, but then forwards, which I prefer. I alternated reviewing the unit in chemistry we were just finishing, to see what still needed to be covered (second time on the trip, and first time ever, I broke my “no work on holidays” rule) and reading one of the two books I managed to bring with me. I got it at school last week for book week. It was a “blind date with a book”, where the book was covered with wrapping paper and all you could read were the first 2-3 lines of the book, written on the outside. Cool idea. It’s my genre, but geared more towards kids. It would be a great adult book with some writing changes. Anyway, it all got me through the time.

Just after 8pm I arrived in Nice, France, on the French Riviera. I started to walk to the apartment I rented a room in, which was quite near the station, and made a quick detour to buy some yogurt for breakfasts upcoming. At the apartment I met Patrice, a nice guy who showed me around the flat and explained how to use different things. He also told me that the molding in my room is from the 19th century. Pretty cool. A bit of internetting and an episode of Last Week Tonight later, and I was ready for bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb