Parles Japitaliano?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 11th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Italy - Adriatic

Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4


Well here I am the first significant breather in 1.5 years, since rubbing the smoothest rock on Easter island for divine knowledge of the next destination, if there was to be….by golly those late work nights mean I’ve earned it!







I’m not one to let the grass grow beneath with life. So, deciding to fulfill one of those ‘do before you die or can’t’ dreams after a travel expo was completely in character… and out I came financially lightened with one business class fare and Exodus tour of Albania, both discounted!







Checking into the 2-to-a-queue business premier section at Auckland airport was totally pleasurable. Within 5 minutes I was upstairs with the family having one of those conversations you never want to leave. Hugs and a few tears later from Mum, I was off with an excited smile and spring in my sore left calf….I had pressing business to do…breakfast in the Koru lounge. After recording the moment for posterity, I presented my boarding
Entree business class styleEntree business class styleEntree business class style

Giant prawns, Hawkes Bay olive oil to rival Waiheke's, crusty wholegrain bread and nice pinot noir to wash things down...mmmmm mmmmm!
pass to the receptionist who had a look of “really, you?” ….I smiled and telepathically responded as she scanned my boarding pass, “yes, I’ve earned it”.







Little did she know how cheap this business class fare was – less than half price! Do note I was not in theme…forgot my ball gown…, so I mingled with the millionaires and suits, fitting in with my Great outdoors backpack and stylish croc travel sandles without any sideways glances. One of my dear older patients warned me of the snooty ones I may find in these parts, found by polishing their airline privilege cards perhaps… but I saw none of that. We even got some laughs queuing for the coffee machine before it when kaput, and spat out a spit of long black. Stereotypes eh!







A few travel advisories I have received so far…



“Don’t take lollies from strange men” (a patient)



“Take care with pickpockets in Rome” (parents)



“Don’t play with landmines/ hurt yourself” (parents)



“ Take this, it’ll help make a picnic in Italy” (hand
Japan is on fire!Japan is on fire!Japan is on fire!

One of the many cloud formations Koji-san and I discussed
made, from a patient)



“Greek men are charmers, take care!” (friend)



“Italian men are charmers, take care!” (friend)







Heck, if I can spend a night in a Carlisle phone booth in autumn when the intercity bus forgets to pick me up, I can take, I hope, the hassle of Greek charmers/ lolly offers, although now I’m a little scared. But what I will take is photos, Mediterranean cheek kisses and a spirit of adventure throughout!







My neighbour for the first flight, having walked a massive 3m to seat 2B, was Koji-san, a Construction Engineer from Yokohama. Although he was seriously ancient (he had at least a decade on me lol), we hit if off immediately in a special dialect called Japaneso-Englo-Espanol. Damn those neurons in the language centre of my brain misfiring!. My ‘Si’ followed the odd ‘soo desu’, geez it was hilarious. I struggled! Before long we had discussed the nuclear-looking cloud formations and concept of turbulence/ aircraft vibration. My new word for the day was “yureru” (vibrate). Better pull that one out at the Hilton that night I thought.







Anyhow, the trip went famously to a diet of whatever you want, sat in a 140 degree recliner (lie flat not offered on the 767 fleet), and listening to Metronomy, Massive attack, LCD Soundsystem, The Rapture and Hot Chip….musical heaven! Woke up spoon shaped at Narita and disembarked to a wall of Pokari Sweat – 32C and 450% humidity! No sooner could you say ohisashiburidesunee I was checked in to the Hilton, had checked out the gym, 25m lap pool and Argentina vs Australia rugby game, and had checked under the duvet of a comfortable super King size bed. No fleas or dead people, I was safe.







The next departure day was momentous and swift….priority business class security lanes, delicious food in airline lounge, and late boarding to an Alitalia flight bound for Rome. Again, rumours of their service being poor were wrong………..I could not believe my eyes to find a fully lie flat massaging bed/ seat to myself for the 12 hour duration on the B777-200ER! Seat 10 was lucky. Now that could not compete with 2B on the 767; 2B or not 2B, it was fate. How many more numbers can this paragraph fit? 1 1 was a race horse, 2 2 was one 2, 1111 race, 22112. All 4 1, 1 4 all. Oh I crack me up.







So after settling into my massage chair and getting airborne, the eat-relax-read-eat-sleep (flat!) cycle began for 12hrs. The Bulgari toiletries pack was a nice touch, but where I’ll find the use for aftershave lotion and aftershave I'm damned if I know. For that matter, what do male passengers do with eau de toilette for ladies? Unless I grow a beard on holiday, I shall have to palm this freebie off to some strange Italian lothario, if they so try to ‘charm’ me with lollies!







Trending towards alcoholism, I then accepted my second holiday glass of red, Tuscan this time, before 10:30am. Sure they do this is Italy? Breakfast was only 2 hours ago? I can’t recall when I last drank wine before 11, or ever for that fact! That would make it ‘tens’es’ not ‘eleven’ses’? Call the AA quick, I need help. This thought was quickly shook out of me by the vibrating massage seat/ bed in business class, oscillating at a frequency and amplitude sure to enhance my bone density or perhaps the whole cabins. In economy, you get the same effect by placing your cheek against the window, a cheaper thrill.



Finally, arriving in Rome. Wow, it's hot. 28C and sticky. After a swift collection of luggage and passing a very casual quarantine check point, I was heading by bus to Termini to rendezvous with Roberta. I dumped luggage with the rude people at the 'bagagli' sector, and we headed out for some sightseeing. Of course it would not be a Rome 'tour' without eating out, and come 9:30pm it was time for more carbs, and the offer of wine again just had to be passed... I was feeling shattered, overfed and underwatered......but the night continued, as Roberta's friend Andre joined us, and he was mighty useful when we eventually got back to collect my lost luggage as a luggage carrier.....and home by midnight, for more chat and photo sharing.... and then blimin skype Ma and Pa popped up...nice to chat (!)..SO it's time to rest those weary stiff legs and get ready for a big one tomorrow, Colesseum, Palatine Hill, Vatican city and ending with a train ride north to Viareggio, when I hope to start relaxing. Realistic? Hmmmm!



Finally, to family/ friends/ patients who swore they’d read this blog (aren’t you glad you did), and have sent regards via email/ text/ Facebook, I really appreciate it! Driven to write for sheer love of it, be assured you will be thought of at least a little in the next month…in between everything else.










/* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-languageƐ mso-fareast-languageƐ mso-bidi-languageƐ}


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

3 options - upright, relaxed and lie flat3 options - upright, relaxed and lie flat
3 options - upright, relaxed and lie flat

Duvet, pillow, poor soundsystem and average food included
I wish for......!!I wish for......!!
I wish for......!!

Coin tossing


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb