Out Of Africa


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
August 7th 2012
Published: August 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I was up at 515AM last Friday as I had last minute packing to deal with… amazing how stupid you can be when you are trying to finish the packing at such an early hour.



Was picked up by the Jean, the VSO Country Director and his driver, Richard at 645AM. Jean was heading off to Brussels, so we traveled together to Heathrow. In hindsight, Dar to Heathrow, Heathrow to Rome was crazy. We actually flew over Rome to London and then I got on another plane and flew back. I guess it would have helped if I looked at a map before I booked the flights. Oh well.



On the way out of Africa, we flew over Mount Kilimanjaro. The clouds were low and the mountain top was clear. We were on the correct side of the plane and got these shots. To think I will be climbing this in the next year (at least, that is the plan at this point) is crazy. I need to start working out for this climb.



The rest of the trip was forgettable. All went smoothly for the most part. Watched "Salmon Fishing On The Yemen" (good movie), "Little Bit Of Heaven" (Kate Hudson's character is dying - stupid movie), and something else that was forgettable.



I arrived at the Hotel Bolivar and checked in. They gave me a key to the room and I was shocked when I saw it. It was the size of a closet. I didn’t say anything and went about my business. It wasn’t until I turned out the light and thought about spending the next three nights in this room that I got up, went down to the front desk and asked for our room to be switched in the morning. They were quite good about it and gave us a much nicer room (still pretty basic) on the top floor with our own private balcony. With a little charm, you really can get what you want!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The First RoomThe First Room
The First Room

I have seen maid's quarters that are nicer than this!
The Hotel BolivarThe Hotel Bolivar
The Hotel Bolivar

Very good hotel. Centrally Located. We walked everywhere from here.


7th August 2012

Room one
What a lovely desk in room one. Could you get a leg in the cubby hole underneath? The monitor was wider than the leg room..lol Thanks for sharing. Maybe I'll fly over and join you for the mountain climb. ha ha...NOT.
24th August 2012

OUT OF AFRICA BUT NOT OUT OF MY HEART...
HELLO BOB, MY WORLD TRAVELER FRIEND! AMAZING AMAZING SHOTS OF KILIMANJARO...YOU REALLY ARE LITERALLY BREATHING RARE AIR!...HOPE WHEN THIS REACHES YOU, YOU ARE WELL AND ALL IS WELL ALL AROUND YOU...MUCH LOVE TO YOUR FAMILY - I MISS YOU VERY MUCH...YOU MUST TELL ME, ALL ABOUT THE VATICAN...DID YOU GIVE THE HOLY FATHER A FEW POINTERS ON ENDURANCE AND COMPASSION? BY NOW I KNOW YOU CAN! KIDDING!...BUT SERIOUSLY, JUST SO MANY AWESOME OPPORTUNITIES YOU'VE CREATED FOR YOURSELF, BOB...YOUR DOCUMENTARY IS GOING TO BE INCREDIBLE...SAY HELLO, LET ME KNOW HOW YOU ARE, I LOVE YOU, BE SAFE AND BLESSED AS ALWAYS, LOVE, MISS MONICA...

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb