Parte quatro


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 24th 2010
Published: September 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Parte quatro
So, two nights ago i went to the soccer game of Americans and some Italians. I didn't play because i was intimidated, so instead i picked wonderful grapes that are so abundant on the vines and watched a little and practiced volleyball with the help of Marco who is just a few years older than us and one of our program leaders. He was trying to help me with my setting technique and i got frustrated, all i wanted to do was play volleyball. But it was fun.
The next day, yesterday, was mellow, i went to Italian, went to the police station for my permit of stay. they took my fingerprints so now i cant do anything illegal. Then i came home and ate lunch in the sunshine. Then I went back to the park with the soccer field to do my homework for art history. There is a school, i think a kindergarten, next door to the park. Two girls were climbing the fence, saying "Uva, Uva" (Grapes, Grapes). So i picked some for them and snuck them through the fence, indicating to them to be quite so the teacher wouldn't see. I also picked way too many for myself, i think they made me sleepy, maybe they were too ripe and had a low alcohol content, or maybe it was the text book that made me tired. I also picked plums, and decided I would come back later to pick a lot.
I sat there for about two hours, studying and watching the kids. I noticed that they had to wear little uniforms, not too formal but definitely gender specific. All of the boys had to wear blue and the girls wore pink. I left and hung out for a while at home, ate an early dinner and went back to the park for the volleyball game we had planned for 7pm. Only one guy showed up, so we played a little together, I called my friends wondering where everyone was and found out they had changed it to 8. So i did some abs and squats and yoga while watching the hot Italians giocate calcio (play soccer). My friend Shauna showed up at 8pm but no one else, we found out they had cancelled it and I was very sad and anxious at this point. So, I went home and complained a little to Ace and Daniele. It was nice to sit with them and chill out, it always is. Then I left my house at 9ish to get to the gym by 9:30 for a belly dance class. I got 5 minutes in of that before it was over. My Italian friend at the gym, told me 9:30 like 5 times, I thought numbers would be the easiest thing even with a language barrier, but I guess not. I need to let it go, you can probably tell by my tone that i have not yet. The class next door was capuarra, which i really want to learn. So I came home again, defeated, anxious and restless. Daniele was still there and laughed at me. I finally took his offer of wine, seeing that I was clearly not going to work out that night. We sat around and talked until 1am, his friend Giovanni came over too.
This morning I made crepes. I bought nutella about a week ago and have been snacking on it dangerously. I asked Daniele to hide it, but he is not a good hider so i still get into it. I decided making crepes was a good excuse to eat it. The typical Italian breakfast is coffee and milk, so at first Alessandro didn't want any. So I ate alone. Then Daniele got up and wanted to try one so I made him one, it was not the most beautiful but it looked way better than the one he tried to make later on. Then Ace came into the kitchen and put us all the shame with his fantastic crepe skills; he did live in France for years, in our defense. Anyway, it was fun sitting around, talking and eating with the guys.
Then i decided it was time to climb this mountain that I have had my eye on for a while. I started out with a similar determination to what I had this summer on the day we tried to climb Gates mountain. I just wanted to get out of town and explore nature. Of course getting out of town requires walking along the main road with lots of cars and noise. I cut off to a side road after passing the traffic. It was quite and nice, probably because it was a dead end. I walked through an open gate, although it was probably private, it looked like they were building a house but no one was there. so I climbed passed the construction, over the barbed wire and ended up on someone elses property. I was in nature at least! So I walked along the trees and up a steep incline and came across more olive tree, I walked towards the sound of cars; I did not want to be near cars but i figured I should get out of private property. So i found my way back to the road after crossing another barbed wire fence that was so easy to cross. The property lines here are more like suggestions, although Im not sure that explanation would have satisfied a property owner if they would have found me. So i continued my journey along the road which was not peaceful at all. The cars passed me at about 65mph, missing me by about 2 feet. everytime i tried to take a side road it was private property and dogs would bark at me. I passed the military barracks which was not natury or uplifting at all. And most of the cars that passed me were guys from the military who think it is their right to honk or cat call. Finally i came across a gas station that looked deserted, next to it were grape vines, they i let my self into the propped open fence and sat among the grapes and the peach tree. Although i could still hear the cars, it was nice to sit among fruit and other plants. I seem to always end up near an abundance of grapes when i escape to nature. I picked some of the biggest grapes I have ever seen, it was wonderful. I meditated there for a while, which was necessary before going back onto the main road. Finally i did, I decided to run to make it faster, as I got closer to town i cut off on the first side road i saw, it was a dead end so i trespassed again. I walked down a grassy road, passed abandoned shacks that were kind of creepy, and onto an olive grove. I walked around, picked a fig and an apple and headed back, although i was in nature, i got an weird feeling, the sky was gray and the shacks were creepy and i was right behind the barracks, so i headed back into town.
It was a good adventure, but i think next time i will walk towards the amazing gardens and fountains i went to with my class!
Ok ciao ciao for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb