Rome, Florence and Milan


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
November 5th 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

WEDNESDAY 28th OCTOBER - INTO ROME

Arrived into Bari, on the east coast of Italy, just after 8am. Took a while to get off the boat and through Customs (people don’t believe in queues over here and it is hard to push little old ladies out of the way just because they shoved in front of you first). By the time I then got a local bus into the city centre, found an ATM and bought a train ticket (which was more expensive than I had thought) it was after 10am. Took a while because the first two ATMs I found wouldn’t accept me card.

My train wasn’t until 1pm so I headed to a café and for a bit of a wander; although since I had my bags I wasn’t keen to walk too far but didn’t see the point in putting them into storage for just two hours. Found an internet café and wasted a bit of time before heading back to the train station. An old Albanian dude with no teeth started chatting to me in broken English and I tried my best to ignore him - luckily my train came so I got away as fast as I could!! He actually asked me for my phone number - do I look that old all of sudden??

The train trip took over four hours which was longer than expected to. Nice train though - comfy seats with powerpoints and everything! Quite crowded though which was the only downside. So got into the main train station at about 6pm and then made my way to the hostel, which was within walking distance of Termini Station (the main station))

Got there and checked in, then ducked out briefly and grabbed some fried rice from a nearby Chinese restaurant (I know - not very Italian but I know I will be eating a lot more pizza over the next four days or so) before having a relatively early night in preparation for a busy day in Rome tomorrow.

THURSDAY 29 OCTOBER 2009 - ROME

Early start this morning. One of the girls from the hostel (Melissa, 25, Canadian) and I headed off together before 8am as we wanted to get a few things done and avoid the queues as much as possible. She had already been to the Coloseum the day before but I had already decided not to go in as I did go into it back in 2001 when I did the whirlwind Europe thing.

So our first stop was the Baths of Caraculla which we got lost getting to and ended up going somewhat past the Coloseum and Palantine Hill and the Roman Forum. Even went past a few other sites along the way too. Anyway, the baths themselves (or what is now left of them) were huge, The grounds cover 10 hectares and the baths were used until the 6th century and able to manage 1600 guests!!

We also went out to Castel Sant’Angelo - which is basically right in front of the Vatican and was built in the 2nd century. It’s now a museum, but we didn’t go in. We spent a little time at the recognisable Trevi Fountain which takes up the entire piazza area - it shows Neptune’s chariot being led by tritons. It is customary to throw one coin over your shoulder into the fountain to ensure your return to Rome, two to make a wish. After the obligatory coin throwing and photos we grabbed a slice of pizza in the area.

In the afternoon we found the famous Spanish Steps which are a major gathering place. At the top of the stairs is the Piazza di Spagna which was a church so we had a quick look in there too.

The other major site of the day was the equally recognisable Pantheon - built 2000 years ago and still completely intact. It is said to be the best preserved building of its time - and while packed with tourists, you can see why - it looks like it could have been built yesterday (except probably by today;s building standards it wouldn’t be standing in 2000 years time!).

We also did quite a bit of other wandering around the city looking at some other lesser known sites and various piazzas, churches and fountains. Got back to the hostel at around 5pm or so and chilled for a few hours.

Melissa and I headed down to the café/bar downstairs at about 7pm and grabbed a very quick bite to eat before heading out to see some of Rome at night. Because everything was quite spread out we really just focused on the Trevi fountain and Colloseum - both of which were worth the evening trek.

FRIDAY 30 OCTOBER 2009 - ROME

Another relatively early start this morning, and after putting our bags into the luggage room for the day, we headed off to the Vatican City - the smallest sovereign nation in the world with a population of 900 or so. I wasn’t terribly interested in seeing the Vatican Museum (although I would have liked to have seen the Sistine Chapel again) so we just focused on St Peter’s Basilica and Square. Michelangelo was responsible for designing the dome of St Peter’s Basilica - which is 120 metres above the alter. Thankfully we got the tube out so we joined a short and fast-moving line to get into the basilica and through the security checks.

Our first stop was basically to go up into the Dome. We opted for the elevator option, which meant that we only had to walk 320 stairs after a short elevator ride, rather than something like 500 steps. Thankfully too as the stairs were narrow and windy and steep so it was sort of difficult going. There was a stop just after we started which had some great views down into the basilica itself. Then it was some more stairs until coming out at the top of the Dome for some great views over the city and into the square. By the time we got to the top not only was it quite crowded up there but the line that we could see weaving through the square to get into the basilica went the whole distance of the square, basically in a long semi circle. It was amazing. All to get into a church!!

When we got down we went into the basilica itself and spent a bit of time wandering around taking in the architecture etc. In the square we stopped to take photographs and look at the fountains. It is here that the Pope does he addresses - so in the middle of this ancient square, there are big screen TVs set up. Interesting combination.

After that we jumped back on the metro and separated - Melissa was heading back to the hostel to get a train onto Naples and I was going to do some more wandering before getting a train that evening to Florence. I got off in the area of Trevi Fountain and spent the afternoon wandering some of the backstreets and shops around the main piazza areas before heading back to the hostel at about 4pm. I also spent a little bit of time at Torre Argentina which is not only ruins but is also a cat sanctuary - home to 250 cats (all of which are vaccinated, wormed, well fed, friendly and available to adopt - even to be sponsored). I went down into the sanctuary and bought sometime to help their cause as well. The lady down there told me (it seems it is part of her job to count cats) that there are 270,000 cats in Rome. That is an enormous amount. She also said that Rome is home to probably somewhere around 100,000 wild dogs as well - but since she only counts cats not to quote her on that!!

Anyway back at the hostel I had time to quickly check email and grab a bite to eat before heading to the train station for the 6pm train to Florence.

In Florence I knew I had to get a bus to the hostel. When I got on I asked the driver to tell me when to get off - but he obviously didn’t understand and I ended up all the way at the end of the line at Michelangelo Piazza and had to board a bus going back the other way - the driver this time was a lot better and actually stopped at the stop I wanted. Found the hostel no problems and no sooner had I checked in was I being rushed out the door as quite a few people had decided to head out to ride the carousel that was in town. I think six of us headed out into town.

After the carousel, we wandered around the city for a good 40 minutes looking for the Irish bar. We kept getting muddled directions but I think that is because there is more than one Irish bar and people kept pointing us to different ones!! Anyway we ended up finding one called the Lions Fountain and stayed for a few drinks before wandering back to the hostel.

SATURDAY 31 OCTOBER 2009 - FLORENCE, ITALY

I had a very lazy morning this morning because of my last two busy days in Rome and a late night the night before. Breakfast was included, although I went out into the kitchen/ common room for breakfast at about 9:45am or so, no one else showed their faces before 10:30am, and even then I think most of them went back to bed. The hostel is quite small - maybe 20-25 beds in total so quite nice and friendly.

I headed into the city at about lunchtime to have a bit of a walk around town. I had already decided that I didn’t want to bother with going into any of the museums (I think I am museumed out - and in Florence they are all very expensive - plus I had seen David when I was in Florence in 2001 and didn’t fancy lining up to see him again!!). So I started at Piazza Duomo and went into the large and impressive cathedral there. All the pictures I took don’t really do it justice though. Wandered through the backstreets, visited the open air gallery near the museums and where the replica statue of David is, wandered down the jewellery street across the river and basically just wandered around. Went to the markets as well although I didn’t but anything - they were good but I have resigned myself to the fact that there is no point my buying random things everywhere I go - as much as I would like to. Florence was just a nice city to wander around in though.

In the late afternoon I headed back to the hostel via the supermarket. Cooked some vege pasta for dinner. After dinner once the Americans and Canadians had returned they set about starting on their costumes - or at least, one of them did. He had a stack of coloured paper and at first wouldn’t tell me what he was going to make himself. I became stick-tape girl while we were all basically chatting and having some wine. Turned out that Alex was making himself into Pinocchio - who is of course from Italy. He was making himself a hat and a nose out of cardboard. About two hours later he was done and even I had to admit that for something made out of cardboard he had done a good job of it. One of the girls drew some of the face onto him as well which finished his outfit off. The South African guy put on a rugby outfit and drew some scars on his arms and face and became a rugby player. The two brothers also had their make-up done - one becoming a rock star (well - I think that is what he was supposed to be!) and the other put devil horns on. The two girls had bought face masks at some point along their travels (maybe in Venice or something) so wore them. And me? Well - I tried to avoid it until Pinocchio decided to make me a costume. He made me floppy dog ears and a dog collar and one of the girls drew a face on me - and I became a puppy dog (reluctantly!!). After photos in the hostel we headed out and first stop was the nearby Irish Bar (Finnigans) where we stayed for a few hours. Pinocchio actually one second place for best costume and won himself two beers. First place was this couple who I think were zombies and they got three beers, and third place was a guy dressed as Pippi Long stocking - who won himself a beer.

Anyway when that place was closing down we continued walking into town to find somewhere else. Found a group of Italians on the way who barely spoke any English but insisted on talking to us constantly. Always makes for interesting one-side conversations!! Eventually we ditched them when we took a different turn.

In the end we found a bar but by that stage we had been wandering for so long that I called it a night and went back to the hostel. Apparently the girls stayed out til 7am so I am glad I didn’t hang around!!

SUNDAY 1 NOVEMBER 2009 - FLORENCE, ITALY

I can’t believe it is already November!! Another late start this morning because of the late night. Grabbed some breakfast at 10:30am and then shortly after headed off to Michelangelo Piazza which is at the top of a hill and has stunning views over the city. I got a bus there as it was quite a distance, but then ended up wandering back into town and through the city centre again to get back to the hostel. Bought my train ticket as well for tomorrow to Milan.

In the afternoon I had the very exciting job of doing my washing. So I spent a good one and a half to two hours doing that - the washing machines at the Laundromat were fantastic - industrial ones that washed and dried everything perfectly!!

Back at the hostel late afternoon, made myself dinner and hung out in the common room until having a relatively early evening.

MONDAY 2 NOVEMBER 2009 - MILAN, ITALY

Very early start this morning as I snuck out of the room as quietly as I could at about 7:30am or so. My train was at 8:30am and I had to get a bus to the station. Managed to sleep most of the way on the train and got into Milan at about midday. I took a slower train as it was half the price.

Arrived into a very wet and quite dreary Milan. Got the Metro to the hostel and was able to check in before grabbing some waterproof clothing and an umbrella and daring to see some of the city.

Wandering around a city in the rain is not fun. I basically ticked off the main sites - Piazza Duomo and the cathedral - the largest gothic cathedral in the world. It was massive. Because I wouldn’t have been able to see anything I didn’t bother to go up to the Dome and have views over Florence. After sheltering in the cathedral for as long as I could, I headed to Vitorio Emmanual II which was - how shall I put it - a very exclusive shopping centre. Complete with a Gucci Café, Louis Vuitton and Prada shops. Now - you are probably thinking I didn’t do any shopping in this centre. Well, I did. Not at any of those shops I just mentioned though. There was a very nice bookshop that had quite a decent English language section so I bought myself another couple of books as I haven’t had any for some time.

From there I wandered past Teatro all Scalla, various other piazzas, down some shopping streets and to the Castle. By the time a few hours had passed I was drenched. So I jumped the Metro back to the hostel, changed and draped my wet clothes and shoes in places where I hoped they would dry.

Headed across to a pasta restaurant for dinner with an Aussie guy staying at the hostel and then had another relatively early evening.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.351s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb