Venice...day 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
April 7th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I left you wondering if would ever stop raining in Venice. And this will be a shorter entry as I am writing I. My Itouch, which I am still getting used to, so forgive any typos pls.

Ok. It was indeed still cloudy when we woke,but at leAst it wasn't raining. After espresso in our little apartment, we set out for SAn Marco Square. However, we were quickly overcome by the HORDES of screaming, hormonal high school kids there on field trips.

Went I stead to the quiet local market for a sweet bun, then boarded the ferry for Burano, one of the islands that mAke up Venice...not as famous as the island ofMurano, but less crowded with tourists. Burano is famous for its lace and there were indeed MANY shops with very eager salesladies wanting to sell us their goods...we resisted most of them, but there was one shop that was unique and beautiful...we all bought at least one memento there.

It's now the day after I wrote the above (and I'm no longer on my Itouch...MUCH faster typing now!)...travelblog.org was down for the majority of the day yesterday - it went down after I'd spent half an hour writing...and I lost all I had written...AUGH.

Suffice to say our 2nd day in Venice was lovely, with the sun out most of the day and only a few drops of rain to dampen our spirits. We decided to just buy some cheese, meats, buns and wine for dinner...it was perfect. We also went back to a tiny shop away from the zoo of San Marco Square, owned by a handsome gentleman, Roberto - an artist, who sells his own works as well as those of his friends. Diane and I each bought several original drawings...beautiful.

Early to bed...we had to pack and head back to the Venice train station the next morning...next stop: Florence!

Advertisement



8th April 2009

Sounds like you are having such a wonderful time! My mom and Laurel had some great stories about the first part(s) of your travels, too!
8th April 2009

Thanks
The trip is sounding fantastic. Thanks for your generosity in sharing it with us this way. Each entry is a joy for me. Peace, and travel well. Ian

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb