ugh...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
March 30th 2008
Published: March 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'll start with the good stuff. We sailed past Italy/Sicily yesterday and we were so close we could see houses and cars. I've actually never made it to Italy, so it was pretty exciting! I've also officially finsihed everything and handed it in. I have one final in a couple of weeks, so until then it's smooth sailing...

Or so I thought.

I found out two nights ago at approxmiately midnight that the US Dept. of Education doesn't recognized Al Akhawayn, the university in Morocco, because it's so new (15 years old). This puts me back in the same exact position I was in with Macquarie 3 months ago. I basically wasted the last week applying, making plans, writing essays for admissions and getting excited about Morocco.

There are lots of important TSS people on board this leg & they're trying to come up with solutions for us regarding the whole financial aid/being misled (I still say lied to, but I guess 'misled' is more PC) issue. It's nice to think someone is actually finally listening to us and hearing our concerns, but I'm still not holding my breath. We had a 2 hour meeting yesterday in which we brainstormed numerous possible solutions, but they all depend on so many factors that are out of my control...

I'm just frustrated right now feeling like nothing is working out. I've tried two different schools associated with this program, and neither of them allow me government financial aid. I already took out a private loan to fund this trip and cannot afford another one. I hate that money rules my life & I don't really like being an adult. Can't I just go back to being 4??

Keep your fingers crossed that tomorrow is better than today...

Advertisement



31st March 2008

TSS
At this point you probably should just find out at which schools you can use your gov't financial aid and go from there. TSS definitely needs to get more organized!
4th April 2008

More organised, or a firm kick in the anchors. Stupid boat.

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb