My First Thoughts of Roma!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ciao everyone! So sorry it has taken me so long to work on this blog! Life in Italia has been absolutely fantastic. The flight was disgustingly long (10 hours to Frankfurt, another hour to Rome, then an interesting van shuttle ride with a man named Alfredo...) but I made it! It's hard to put into words what the feeling was when I first got here. It was both physical and emotional. My body had tons of adrenaline, and my mind was overflowing with thoughts of where I wanted to go, how I would get around with virtually no Italian background, and how I would manage being away from home for so long. The feelings though were all part of my nerves that had been out of control for almost a week before the trip. Now, I am getting to know Rome as my second home, and have started walking around, taking the bus and visiting sites on my own. I have visited so many places with many friends, and am excited to travel independently around the city, and get to know it a little better!

It's hard to believe how many places I have visited these past two weeks! I have already thrown some coins in the Trevi fountain, had 3 authentic sit-down Italian dinners (appetizers, main course, dolce, cappuccino), viewed the Pantheon (built in 27BC), been to the Vatican and St. Peters, and seen the Rome Forum, and the Colosseum. The Rome Forum was incredible--I saw the place where Cesar's body was carried out to after his death, the Senate, the Vestal Virgins palace, the Mayor's office, and the temples of Jupiter and Saturn. About 2 miles from the Forum, I also got to see the exact sport where Cesar was put to death. What was most fascinating was seeing that people still put flowers out for Cesar at his altar.

I think what is so surreal about Rome is the fact that I am standing in buildings that were built centuries ago (a lot from the 15th century, some as far back as 27BC like the Pantheon), and it seems that each step I take has significance to it. My travels inside Rome are not nearly complete. Though I have seen so many of the "Top 10" places, I have so much to learn still. Throughout my travels, as I keep learning and discovering, I will document it with photos. I have been here for two weeks and already have 947 photos. WOW. Much more to come!



On my last note for this entry, I think one of the most important things I have gained from studying abroad is interacting with another culture. I am completely outside of my comfort zone, and it is the best thing I have ever done for myself. Everyone needs to get a chance to be put into another culture. I can't escape the culture here, instead I live in it, and am 100% enticed with the Italian way of life.

Ciao for now!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb