Italy with Aunt Mina and Uncle Ron


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
October 27th 2007
Published: October 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Gatwick airportGatwick airportGatwick airport

I'm not so hungry now!
Dear Avery,
I have just had a fabulous trip in Italy, visiting the Bay of Naples, Pompei, the Amalfi Coast and the beautiful town of Ravello. One whole day we toured Pompei. Then I drove with Aunt Mina and Uncle Ron to the area known as Puglia and we went biking, sometimes even in the rain! We visited groves of olive trees, took a cooking lesson, learned how to make homemade mozzarella cheese (yum!!!) and ate so much I thought I would pop! Actually, I did pop but luckily Aunt Mina sewed me back up. The prettiest place was this town called Alberobello where people live in stone houses called TRULLI. I't tell you all about them when i see you in the spring. Love, Classic


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

ouch!!!!ouch!!!!
ouch!!!!

I feel so much better now.
Cooking LessonCooking Lesson
Cooking Lesson

Man, do I know how to make focaccia now! All by hand and just delicious. Topped with tomatoes and spices.
We're going biking!We're going biking!
We're going biking!

Best part of the day is choosing snacks to take along. Aunt Mina likes the peanut M and M's the best but I'll eat anything. Lucky for me I carry my own drink.
Full Pugliese lunch in a masseriaFull Pugliese lunch in a masseria
Full Pugliese lunch in a masseria

So a masseria is a fortified farmhouse. No more marauders here, just lots of beautiful stonework and groves of olive trees.
Say Cheese!Say Cheese!
Say Cheese!

This is me and Bailey sitting on Uncle Ron's camera case while Nicola makes handmade mozzarella. It's just low fat cheese and an enzyme mixed in very hot water and pulled to the right consistency. Wait until you see the video.
TrulliTrulli
Trulli

This is where Bailey and I are explaining to everyone how a stone trullo house is built and what the inside looks like.
A well deserved breakA well deserved break
A well deserved break

We've gone all over Alberobello this morning and I am pooped. Bailey helped me climb up here on this trullo house (over 500 years old) to get a break in the sun.


Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb