At the helpx place


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
August 28th 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've been away a wk but it feels like ages.
Things have not been that hectic here since i left rome. the helpx place is v nice.
Its an english couple who run it, Mick and Angela. I think they've been there 2 or 3 years now and have a really nice set up going! Its a bit like the good life but with good weather! They grow all there own veggies, have chickens, and a load of grapevines which they make there own wine with! The food is fab, and they look after us really well. We've been doing mainly gardening, not anything too hard, but the heat is exhausting. it was 38 in the shade when we were working on sunday. Its getting cooler as the week goes on. we've had two days off, yesterday and today, and then we'll be working the next two. The heat really takes it out of you. The fact that Mick and Angela are english is good for conversation but not so good for my italian! Theres another helper there, Vanessa, from oz. Shes really nice too and shes done a lot more travelling from me, so there's lots of top tips! I feel like I've landed on my feet here and its much more relaxed than the few days i spent in Rome.
The beach yesterday was really nice, but there wasn't a single english speaking person around!. The weather was fab and the water was lovely. My white bits have gone a wee bit pink but hopefully they'll catch up with the browner bits soon! Decided i was going to get an icecream later on in the afternoon, so went up to the cafe place. Oh my god, couldn't beleive how hard work it was to get an icecream! it was a young girl who obviously didn't like tourists and huffed and puffed a lot in amongst the tutting! By the end of it I was just like, any icecream will do, i don't care which!! Wierd, you'd think Solero was the same in English or Italian - especially as it said Solero on the board! He he. Things like that make you feel really isolated when you don't speak the language! My Italian CDs obviously didn't do the trick! :O/
I came into rome with Vanessa today to go to the Indian embassy. Unfortunately I got here too late and it was closed. Just checked on the internet and they only take applications in the morning. Nevermind, guess i'll have to come back. Should have checked before I came, but it was a last minute decision - another leason learned!
My legs have become a feeding ground for any italian mosquito! unbelievable. its become a daily ritual when I wake up to count how many more i have in my collection! Doesn't bode well for any malaria based regions tho! At this rate I will be using the deet before I get there!
Missing all my mates loads and looking forward to hearing all your your news!


Advertisement



29th August 2007

Ahh have only just sussed out how to leave a comment on here.........Sounds like you are having a great time in Italy and its only just the beginning!! Keep on trekking!! Di x
9th September 2007

Hey Di! Hows things with you guys! Missing the office loads (he he! only kidding :O) ) Anything changed? Say hi to Jenny for me - haven't heard from her for a while. is she still sat opposite you. Who else has joined the party since I left? C u x
9th September 2007

Hey guys! How's things back home? What you up to? Been up the fountain recently? Have put a few piccys on facebook. Have you managed to get them. Have more to go on - even one or 2 or me this time too. - Made extra special effort! Just need to find a cafe which lets you plug into the USB port. They seem few n far between! Hope everyone's well. Loadsa love x

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb