Venice; 2nd best city in the world?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto
April 7th 2018
Published: April 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post



Venice isn’t the only city in the world that has a train station. But I think Venice might be the only one on earth where, upon leaving it, people start sobbing. I filled up both times. Arriving by train you get no sense of what Venice looks like, then suddenly, right in front of you is the Grand Canal. In any other station in the world there would be a road, but in Venice, it’s a canal. Like a road, but a road made of water. Crazy. It’s the speed of the transition that shocks the visitor like a slap across the face. The contrast between a banal railway concourse and the most beautiful city on earth is enormous and moving.



Many European towns do ‘crumbling beauty’ well, Italy does it better than most, and Venice is the jewel in the Italian crown. It’s not just crumbling though, it’s shabby, literally falling apart, and that is why it is beautiful. There’s a ‘Venetian Resort Hotel’ in Las Vegas which offers a Disneyesque version of the real thing complete with canals, boats and singing gondoliers; but it’s not scruffy enough. In real Venice the bricks are flaky, the plasterwork peeling, the towers leaning, the paint is faded, the streets are chaotic and the whole scene is a living work of art.



I like Venice.



Is it expensive? Any accommodation with a canal view tends to charge more but there are always bargains to be had. If you eat or drink in a main square expect to pay top dollar, ambiance comes at a price in Venice. If you are prepared to walk ten metres down a side street however prices can drop dramatically. I had a beer in one square and half a glass of beer cost a whopping six euros, around the corner we ate in a pizzeria where a litre of wine cost a mere ten euros. The prices in St Marks Square are the stuff of comedy legend and a small beer will cost you 13 euros, unsurprisingly the cafes there are almost totally empty all the time.



Does it smell? I’ve heard this said but I’ve never had a smelly day there. Or, more accurately, Venice hasn’t been smelly when I’ve been there. My gripe about Venice is that it gets uncomfortably crowded with day trippers. If you can stay in the town do so because the streets are much less busy, and much more pleasant at night. For honeymooners a trip on a Gondola, complete with a singing Gondolier is an attractive option. Divorce is a cheaper option.



It’s a wonderful place to amble round and let your feet take you where they will. There’s lots of little shops to explore and little bars to rest in, but make sure you’ve got a map. It’s easy to get lost, and hard to get your bearings away from the grand canal because there are few landmarks visible in the charming but chaotic alleys. Oddly, though there’s a lot to see to see and do, I would also say there’s not much to see and do. A diary of a day in Rome would be full of ‘did this, saw that, went to such and such’ etc. Venice isn’t a place for ‘doing’, it’s a place for ‘being’.



Should you go?



If you asked me what I my favourite city in the world was I would answer very quickly; Rome! Then, after you left, I’d be drumming my fingers on the table wondering and mumbling to myself… or is it Venice?

Advertisement



9th April 2018

Have you been to Russia?
As much as I loved my visit to Venice, I really loved St Petersburg, defiantly not somewhere to live but a great place to visit. I also think Stockholm in Sweden is right up there as one of my favorite's too. Again not to live in but only because of the language barrier. I could quite see myself living in a little town in the Cotswold's! And think when I went there in my early twenties there was no way that's where I'd want to live!
10th April 2018

Russia, Stockholm and the Cotswolds
Hi Linda. We've went to Russia but it was only a couple of stop overs on a trip to the Maldives, it was the cheapest flight option. We spent the afternoon in Red Square, mooched around on public transport, so we saw a bit and it was interesting. We've not been to St Petersburg or Stockholm but we quite fancy a Baltic Cruise which would take in all of those and more. The Cotswolds is beautiful, we did a week in a camper van around there a few years ago. I'd like to go again. Cheers.

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb