Romeo, Romeo! Wherefore art thou Romeo?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Verona
October 30th 2006
Published: October 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

'There is no world without Verona walls..'There is no world without Verona walls..'There is no world without Verona walls..

but purgatory, torture, hell itself. Hence banished is the banished from the world and world's exile is death...'
I made a day trip to Verona to see the setting for Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. Once again I encountered delays on the train. I haven't had much luck here but as always, the destination proved to be worth the journey. Verona is very much Roman in architecture but also has its pink medieval buildings which I thought was pleasant visually. I saw most of the main sights from Piazza Bra (don't ask why the piazza is called this. As far as I could see , it has nothing to do with lingerie). The roman Arena, an amphitheater was also impressive as well as Castelvecchio and Palazzo delgi Scaligeri. Nothing too eventful happened today. However my camera is dunzo....hopefully it's a temporary problem.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb