Romantic Verona and lake Garda


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Verona
September 2nd 2023
Published: October 2nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Verona Arena at nightVerona Arena at nightVerona Arena at night

Italian opera in progress
Romantic Verona and lake Garda

-Piprey on wheel

Romantic Italy
'Un bel di Vedremo' is a famous song of Madame Butterfly opera where the Japanese wife pines for her American navy husband to come back to her in Nagasaki. Imagine, watching a spectacular opera in a 1000-year-old arena which today seats 16,000 people; from where the mighty Romans once watched bloody sports!

Such song, music, food and social life is inherent in Italian culture, making it stand out rather flamboyantly against the sober character of Northern Europe.


Back to present world, all London airports had an airport traffic control failure. Hence, over 1900 flights were cancelled over 2 days. Fortunately, the backlog got cleared by the time my Lufthansa flight took off to Munich. From Munich to Verona it was Air Dolomite which was turbulent. My co-passenger was an Italian scientist returning from Amsterdam. She was so nice that she shared her number in case I needed any help as I was reaching very late in Verona.

Verona

At Verona airport, there was no uber or radio taxi. I took public bus 199 from airport to Porto Nuovo Train station and another bus 93 to Siros Hotel. It was quite a happy adventure getting into the hotel. I picked up the keys from a secret spot and did self check-in into a bright orange building with pots of flowers and statue in the odd hours of the night. (At the main bus stop, a young man was kind enough to warn me that night was not so safe in Verona)

I slept well and enjoyed famously sweet Italian breakfast of yummy pistachio croissant, fresh strawberries, melon and grapes with English tea. I filled my water bottle with cold water and shifted my stuff to a double room. The cappuccino was par excellence.

Energised like in Star Trek, I took bus to piazza bra (around Verona Arena). Chatted with a black solo traveller from France and some my tips to see Verona like the arms museum by the river Adige.

Italian buses can be peculiar. Verona buses do not stop at designated bus stops and you will need not 6th but 7th sense to know where they really do!



Following the bus stop mix, my friend from Munich sweetly reminded me that there was no rush and I was on holiday 😊

We caught up with news over some freshly cooked fish, salads and spritzol. Visited some fine churches, walked by the river Adige, Juliet's balcony, Romeo's house and the squares among others. The river was full because of good rains. After some wonderful Lugana white wine and the finest tapas of creamy salad on a piece of bread with a tasty baby tomato for 2.50 Euro each, we called it a day.

Next morning, we discovered a fresh farmers market near the hotel.

I bought these delicious, red/orange/yellow small tomatoes, grapes and plums- like sunshine in my picnic bag.

The free guided walking tour of the Verona introduced us to stories of the various merchant families and their contributions to the city including Romeos' house.



We were doing very poor time keeping as all good restaurants closed in Italy by 3pm and we missed lunch. Choosing between shopping and eating was hard 😉

Verona Arena is like a mini stadium of the modern world. In summer, it hosts world famous operas.

In the evening, we got ready for a magnificent opera in the Verona arena. The sky turned from light blue to electric blue. Lights came up on the stage and sparkled like diamonds with moon in the sky. Most people were well dressed men and looked straight from Hollywood.



The set of Nagasaki was elaborate. I was reading a book called Patriots by Pearl.S.Buck, set in Nagasaki and the set of a beautiful harbour in the Opera, helped me to relate to it. Music touched your heart and the atmosphere electric. There were two boards with English translation, but they were at such odd places that you had to choose between reading it or seeing the action 😞

At the end of the opera, I was looking at the watch. Invariably, we did merry go round with the bus stops.

Finally, I followed Google map to stand at a bus stop which did not have the bus number on it's list.



6 others from the Opera joined us at this bus stop. We had a long walk to the hotel if the bus did not turn up, but it did. That's the magic of a beautiful, musical evening.

Peschiera

We checked out from the lovely hotel and took a train to the small town of Peschiera by the Lake Garda. My friend was keen to drive an unlicensed motorboat. We got one for 2 hours for 90 Euro.

She sailed through the middle of the lake over the waves to Sirmione and then to Lazise, Movieland and Gardaland like a triangle before returning to Peschiera. This time, I did not want to miss lunch and thankfully had steamed fish with vegetables and a lovely view of the lake. A former " Dhobi ghat", now with a pretty bridge going to the Peschiera railway station. It was like having lunch right by river Thames or by the Singapore river. Elegant and classic.

After my friend left for Munich, I checked into the hostel and went for a swim in the lake. The water tasted sweet and temperature so pleasant. The lakebed was full of pebbles which hurt a bit. Unlike the sea, you had to constantly move to stay afloat.

It was fascinating to swim among ducks and swans as it was a freshwater lake. There was no fear of lurking sharks!

With your head bobbing out of the water, a swan approaching you with its wings raised can be scary.



Indeed, I watched a little boy racing into the land when a swan approached him from the water!

My locker key in my necklace went missing in the lake. It was futile to search in the 180 km long emerald water lake. Painstakingly, I walked on the hard pebbles to the changing room. Imagine the ordeal of breaking the lock , should a locksmith be available in this late afternoon. While changing, I felt a small solid thing in my swim wear. My key! Yippey!

Some of the recommended restaurants were as follows:


• La Plume - excellent location
• L'Osteria - busy and centrally located
• Raffilu - elegant and by the quay ("Dobhi ghat")

I had another lovely pasta with mushroom and bacon accompanied by a Lugana glass wine of 4.50 Euro. A bottle of still water cost 3.50 Euro. There is no concept of tap water like in United Kingdom.



Restaurants add a service charge of 2.50 Euro per person which was a bit strange. I enjoyed a heavenly Lazise creamery gelato of green pistachio and cream apricot as I watched the Sun whimsically paint the sky pink and red.

The hostel room housed 16 women in a large room. Amazingly, there was a rule for silence from 11.30pm to 7.30am. I don't think I ever slept so soundly in any hostel.

Malcesine

After a sad, bare minimum breakfast with American coffee at the hostel, I lost some sweat when I tried to book a return from Peschiera to Malcesine by public bus at a vending machine at Peschiera railway station. The journey of 1 hour 41 mins cost 5.30 Euro one way. The English passengers behind me were kindly encouraging and were most grateful that I showed them how to book a return ticket 😉

It was a scenic bus ride by the Lake Garda to the base of the Monte Blado. The cable car took flight and climbed about 2000 ms high for 25 Euro (+2 Euro charge extra for over-the-counter ticket delivery).

We floated into clouds which was great except we could not see much when we were on top of the mountain!



Monte Blado

I followed a trail. Quite a few people were waiting to paraglide when the weather cleared. Saw cows with bells and an Alpaca. Its head resembled a little boy with golden hair with mushroom cut and large almond shaped brown eyes. Quite popular with German tourists.

Coming down the cable, the mist cleared and the lake looked inviting in the hot weather.


Back in hostel, I splashed into the water. Chased the ducks and smiled at 6 months old who gleefully floated in the water, probably for the first time in his life. There were tiny, green fishes too.

I enjoyed dessert of Italian sweet grapes, baby tomatoes and plums as I relaxed in the hostel lobby. I planned to visit Lazise before heading to Verona airport.

Lasize

I caught the 8.19 am bus to the picturesque seaside town of Lazise. The roadside cafes were filling up with hungry tourists. I bought a small slice of pizza and then headed back to Verona airport via Peschiera.

The ducks and swans were very social here just like the Italian people.



Munich

A much more peaceful, aeroplane journey from Verona to Munich that I dozed off a bit and in the middle of my sleep, when I opened my eyes,

I saw the beautiful snow laden Alps with such a pretty little green city in the valley. The captain announced it was Innsbruck. Dearest me!



At Munich airport, I bought a full day pass for 13.80 Euro in German and took train S1 or S8 to Marienplatz to meet my friend and her husband.

She informed me that that day she helped at least 7 other tourists to get tickets from Deutsche Bahn (DB) vending machine in German. Her husband worked in DB and was achieving free German literacy for tourists 😊

The Munich farmers market had cute figures on the water fountains. We watched the century old musical
Rathouse, MunichRathouse, MunichRathouse, Munich

It has a musical clock which rotates with stories of royalty, duels etc at 5pm in summer
clock dancing on the Rathaus (official building of Munich). When I said in English it kind of meant the house of rats, she said it was indeed something like that :-)

We enjoyed a traditional Bavarian dinner of huge pork portions, coleslaw and a "small" glass of beer. She refused my offer to pay for dinner, instead presented me some exquisite German chocolates.

Inviting them for a visit to London, I headed off to Munich airport to fly back to London Heathrow. Visiting three countries on the same day was hectic. London was facing a heatwave again and the houses are just not made for warm weather.

A land where beautiful wine is probably cheaper than water, if you want romance in everyday life, wait no more. Visit Italy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

Juliet's balconyJuliet's balcony
Juliet's balcony

Romeo and Julie's play by Shakespeare was inspired by real life stories in Verona. There was a popular Italian play previously.
Inviting lake in hot weatherInviting lake in hot weather
Inviting lake in hot weather

Dash into the melted glaciers of yester years!
La Scalaria family tombLa Scalaria family tomb
La Scalaria family tomb

Powerful mercentile families of Verona controlling trade and commerce
Lazise townLazise town
Lazise town

Empty shop in a September morning. In the evenings, it is bustling with tourists.
Munich airportMunich airport
Munich airport

Airy architecture.
Sirmione castle from the motorboatSirmione castle from the motorboat
Sirmione castle from the motorboat

Motorboats generally must maintain 150ms distance from shore. Wooden debris, algae can get stuck in propeller and damage it.


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb