Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
May 24th 2017
Published: May 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I spent the day in Venice and it was nice to be back. I took the train to get there. That is why I chose the hotel in Padua: for its proximity to both the tram (for seeing Padua) and to the train (for seeing Venice). I felt a comfortable sense of the familiar on arrival in Venice because Maggie and I have been there before. I got a day pass for the vaporetto (the boat equivalent of a bus in this city with no streets and no cars). First of all I rode down the entire length of the Grand Canal, listening to Rick Steves's commentary as I went. The canal is lined with old palazzos and gondolas ply the water (see photo). When I got to Piazza San Marco, it was a pleasure to simply sit back and take in the scene: famous sights, many tourists, and numerous pigeons (see photo). I was glad to see the Bridge of Sighs (see photo). It was the first time I had seen the actual structure because it was covered in plastic and scaffolding when we were last in Venice. And I got to see the other famous bridge, the Rialto, too (see photo). It is enjoyable to wander in the back lanes of Venice, not caring about getting lost. In some ways it is a relief to get away from the mobs of tourists! I also used my vaporetto pass to get around and explore. I had gnocchi for lunch followed by a gelato cone. I visited the Frari Church and the Accademia museum to look at Venetian art - Titian, Tintoretto, and Bellini were all from Venice. Altogether it was a very good visit, but by the end of the day, I was ready to catch the train back to Padua - it is less than 30 minutes away. I will share one more view of Venice's Grand Canal before I sign off (see photo).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb