Day 8 - Off to Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
October 17th 2013
Published: October 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Off to Venice, after scrambled eggs and donuts! We arrived, along with the thousands of other tourists in town for the day. Nath said it was little wonder Venice was sinking (with all that extra weight). The initial vista (minus the tourists) was breath-taking. So many things to see, so many photographs around every corner. There was the river, domes, boats - everything seemed to be on the move. At one point, I had what Nath called 'a moment' and just threw my arms in the air and thought 'I'm in Venice'. Lots of small streets (read 'lanes'😉 - in fact, if I lived here and was heading out for the night, I would have to tie string to my front door and the other end to my waist, just to find my way back home. There was the constant feeling of getting lost - but not really possible. Gondolas, water taxis, water buses - funny to see no cars or bikes. Lots of tourist markets everywhere, lots of things made in China. Nath bought a man-bag with a Robin Ruth.italy tag but turns out that was made in China too. The toilets were few and far between and $NZ3 to use - and not always in the state that we are used to a home. More food tasting, more pizza, more red wine... more...more...more.... The Grand Canal, Doge's Palace, St Marks Sq (Piazza San Marco), the Bridge of Sighs - sigh, it was all so much to take in. Felt that one day was enough but know that Venice would have an even different look by night.

When reviewing our zillion photographs of the day I was disappointed that few captured the essence of Venice. Hopefully my memory wont fail me too quickly and I will be able to close my eyes and see it all again. It was midnight (again) when we climbed into our beds.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb