The Power of Compliments is Universal


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
February 12th 2013
Published: February 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ok I can't help it, I'm back already. The took approximatley 21 minutes haha. I just had to write just one more blog before I fully begin my day.. this is too good not to share..

Mia famiglia italia has a cleaning lady that comes a few times a week. A very sweet, shy lady. She speaks literally zero words in English. We obviously see alot of each other though as I am here most of the time during the day. So over the course of the last few weeks we have shared a few smiles and I have made a few attemps in my little bit of Italian to say hi, how are you, and so on. A pretty simple gesture right? Well some how it really seems to put a giant smile on her face whenever I do this. The last several days I actually have not seen her though because, sadly, her mother is very ill with cancer and from what I am told is not doing so well.

As I waited for my last blog to publish, I had myself some breakfast and then went to my room to finally drag myself out of my PJs before finishing the last of my coffee. While I was getting dressed, I heard the front door open, surprisingly it seemed she had actually arrived this morning after nearly a week of being away. When I walked back in to the kitchen I asked her politely, "dove e mio caffe?" (Where is my coffee?). I was then highly disappointed to discover she had actually dumped it out while she had begun to do the dishes and tidy. What were the chances I thought? Upon realizing what had happened, she looked at me and apologized profusely. My immediate reaction of course was frustration. It took a minute for my irritation resided, and then I just laughed in my head thinking, she is lucky I am in such a good mood this morning or I probably would have a very different attitude. At this point I also realized I hadn't even said "Ciao" or "come stai?" (How are you?)

Then it really hit me: this woman's mother is dying. And here she is standing in the kitchen apologizing to ME because she threw away the rest of my coffee? How crazy is that! At this point I grabbed my iPhone and quickly translated: "Spero che la tua mamma sta bene" (I hope your Mother is feeling well). The look on her face was pure shock. This was the most Italian I had ever said to her, and I don't think she at all expected the strange Canadian au pair to even know about her mother? She didn't have much to say back. Basically, thank you for asking. But I didn't expect her to say too much and she really didn't need to. The look in her eye was enough for me to know that I had made a difference in her day, simply for taking a moment to ask.

Now that right there, that is something to be cherished. She may speak no English, and I (currently) speak very little Italian, but some how I had just managed to change her day it seemed. And it really took no effort or time out of my day. It doesn't have to be such a big deal though, thats the craziest thing. Compliments should be given freely and plentifully throughout the day! To each and every person you meet. Even as simple as to share a smile with a stranger could change their whole day. Sometimes we are just so caught up in our own problems and world we forget that someone else may need that love and attention even more than you do yourself. I at this point have completely forgotten about my "coffee frustration". Guess what? I made more! And Cincia (the cleaning lady), she left here hopefully feeling just a little more hopeful and loved than she did when she arrived.

There is a blanket of 'neve perfetto bianco' (perfect white snow) covering this smoggy grey city. And I am sure for her in this very moment of her life, there is nothing more depressing to look at when she steps out the front door. I couldn't even believe she had shown up to work today in fact, because I know myself when my mother was going through her illness: work, school, life itself just didn't seem to matter at all. But she had gotten out of bed today and came to work. Even looking back on it now the thought that I would have even gotten upset with her over something so insignificant makes me feel terrible inside. I am therefore SO thankful that this morning I am in a happier place than I have been in prior days of my life. The fact is, I did NOT get mad at her. Even if in a 30 second moment I felt the desire to, that feeling went away. And I remained calm. And I did "cry over spilt milk". It is so true, the little things in life, they just don't matter at all sometimes.

I think the power of compliments is highly under-rated. I will keep this blog alot shorter than my first because I do realize that you all have lives and can't spend your entire day just reading what I have to say, as much as I would love that (ha ha, just kidding!). But I actually want to leave you all with a little challenge this morning. Make at least ONE person you meet smile. Whether it be someone you already know, your lover, your son, your friend. Or even a complete stranger, the barista at Starbucks (please, PLEASE choose him/her, I have done that job and let me tell you they need love too) or the lunch lady at the cafeteria. I challenge you to make at least one of these people feel better about their day. And the funniest part? I can almost gaurantee you that after you have made one person smile, you are going to carry that on one or two other people as well. The ability to make someone else smile, its strangely addicting. This much I DO know. It's part of how I first began to shed my own dark cloud. If you can't make yourself feel better, make someone else feel better! It's really hard to keep a frown on your face when someone's bright smile is beaming back at you 😊

Alright. Now I promise that's all for today. But tomorrow, is a new day. Which at this point of COURSE means a new blog!

Advertisement



15th February 2013

dearest Britt, please keep writing as I love to read your blogs. One day sweet little Abby will also wan to read auntie bitty\'s blogs. Hugs for the neighbors and happy valentines day lovely Brittany
15th February 2013

Dear Deb: You just made my entire morning. Grazie mille bella!!! (Thank you beautiful. Please give all mi amore (my love) and molti bacci (many kisses) to the neighbours!!!! E a mia piccola nipote serenissima (and to my sweet little niece)

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb