Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 11th 2008
Published: October 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

8/9

TRAVEL DAY TO VENICE. Back on the Busabout buses and starting the Southern Loop. On the way to Venice we stopped at St Johann it looked so much like Switzerland so very pretty. Arrived in Venice to some hot weather, first thing I did was put shorts and a singlet on. Venice has the biggest mosquitos I have ever seen they are huge.

9/9

Headed into Venice on the 9am Shuttle bus as our campsite is outside Venice but doesn't take long to get there. As we walked over our first canal I was awe struck Venice is so beautiful even better than I had imagined, walking around I just couldn't get enough talk about sensory overload, so much to look at so many windy streets and jewellery shops, a girls dream city. The whole place is a mass of windy little streets with canals and bridges everywhere, markets and shiops galore and the most delicious food. HEAVEN. When we finally made it to Marco Square we went up to the top of the bell tower which gave us the most amazing view of the city. After this Anna and I met up with Nathan and Deb and decided to go on a gondala ride together as they are so expensive, but it was so worth it, it was amazing and we had the best gondala driver he kept trying to tip us over, pretending to throw our cameras overboard and he sang in Italian the whole way it was brilliant. Venice is just such a beautiful city so amazing I love it here. After dinner we went to a toga party, so much fun watching the Top Deckers at their finest.

10/9

Went into Venice again early today, on my own this time and headed straight for Marco Square and went to the Basillica, it is so beautiful, with mosacs covering every surface all in gold and bright colours. I then I went to the Palace and walked over the Bridge of Sighs. I then continued to shop and just wander around this amazing city. After shopping I met up with Anna, Deb and Nathan and we went on a Vaporetta through the large canals, then went back to do more shopping lol and then headed back to the campsite to pack my things ready to leave tomorrow morning. Had a great last dinner in Venice with Stu, Lorissa, Deb, Nath, Anna and a few of the other Busabout crew, had a great time except for being eaten alive my the mosquitos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb