Sorry these are out of order and pictureless


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Approaching San Marco squareApproaching San Marco squareApproaching San Marco square

A little fuzzy from boat movement. The blue sign to the right is part of the restoration screening on both sides of the Bridge of Sighs.
Sunday, August 31, 2008 - Day 8 Venice
Hooboy!! Barely a week into the trip and I'm whipped - obviously no trip to China is in my future unless there's a dramatic improvement in my physical fitness. I seem to have wrenched something in my left side (at least I hope that's what it is and not a kidney stone or something - never had that, so probably not it). But I'm carrying on as best I can - altho I did cut the Venice day trip a bit short and have the adventure of getting back to the hotel at Mestre by Vaporetto (boat bus, E6.50) and train E1.0 (the best bargain of the trip so far), with a couple (a little older) from Australia. We walked to the Rialto Bridge and took the Vaporetto from there, so at least saw that area. One couple, my age or less, stayed at the hotel all day.

We went in to San Marco square again this morning by a faster boat around the “belly” of the islands (last night by taxi boat along the Grand Canal - beautiful, followed by a lovely dinner, optional about E66.00 and worth it, included boat and wine). Had a local guide for the Doges Palace and Bridge of Sighs (missed the inside of the big church, because it's Sunday we couldn't go in until 2 - am sure it's spectacular, like many other big ones, and it's well-pictured in books). We had radio headsets with a local guide, lots of history. I had to sit down at every opportunity (few and far between). She droppped us off at the high-dollar Murano glass place on main island, for glass-blowing demonstration and sales pitch. Glass-blower made a vase very quickly and a 10-12 inch+ horse in just a minute from one gather of glass - marvelous to see. Tons of huge pieces on display and gorgeous chandeliers with huge price tags. I could have spent hours during my younger days just looking at it all - they discouraged photos. A small millefiore tumbler (2-inch) was E35.00 or so. Beaded necklace “with gold” was E45.00 - much less on the street, altho supposedly of inferior glass.

We walked through the Doges Palace, incredible paintings and carvings on the walls and ceilings, many rooms. Walked through the tiny Bridge of Sighs - couldn't see it very well outside
On the Rialto BridgeOn the Rialto BridgeOn the Rialto Bridge

It was pretty much this crowded every where we walked around.
- restoration work going on. Companies sponsor some of the restoration work, and get to put up large (tasteful) ads on the construction screens; some of the screens are painted to resemble the buidling behind them that's being worked on. We've seen lots of cranes, scaffolding, etc. every day - and even tho it interferes with some photos, I guess it's good that the work is being done.

I snacked on food I brought along for lunch - need to get some of it out of my suitcase. Lunch prices in Venice are out of sight - most people there are throwing money around left and right. A few on my tour are being a little careful. We have a mother/son duo along and he's doing all the sightseeing and videotaping, and she's mostly shopping (but she's been here before).
Weather still fine - pretty hot here. At Plaza Hotel, in Mestre “on continent” -- across from train Station but quiet. There's a large McDonald's in the station and some shops around here. We have included dinner tonight at hotel, so should be restful and easy; breakfast was okay, not as good as Germany, but adequate. My room is
A view along the canalA view along the canalA view along the canal

From the Vaporetto (bus-boat) -- a great way to get around.
fine; bed about a small twin size, a little hard, but okay. Bathroom is nice with fine shower, like others, have a long, tall step to get up into the tub; don't know how shorter, older folks manage. And, here I am at almost 64, and I think this is the first hotel room I've ever had that has a bidet (I used it to soak the labels off the King Ludwig beer bottle, and a wine bottle from last night; the wine one disintegrated tho). I'm so glad I'm not coping with luggage and driving, altho a slower timetable would be nice. We had a local Cosmos bus this morning, not as much room between seats as the Globus bus. Our Globus bus is new and very nice, lots of room, even our really tall guy is comfortable.

The main group stayed at San Marco square to do more there and then do a gondola ride (optional). Going up in the Campobello/campanile cost E8.00 which I would have done if I'd had the strength, since it's a clear day today. Bought some postcards instead, and, shame on me, I had to buy camera batteries! So, my first main advice is bring lots more batteries (it was E8.00 for 4 AA Kodak digital camera batteries; I just hope they're kind of fresh and last a reasonable amount of time.) Good thing I had a small back-up camera until I got more batteries. Of course, it's easy to find lots of books in the States of the places I'm going to, but I do like having my own photos as well.

We have seen a few brides - that's supposed to mean good luck. I missed a few traditional sights by coming back early, and a couple of museums, but I hadn't originally planned on coming to Venice anyway. It is very crowded and hectic, but lots of amazing and lovely things to see. I'm glad to have the cool air and time to write some about the trip so far (not regretting coming back to hotel today; it was a good decision - and that's one of the handy things about traveling alone, I'm in charge of my decisions - altho with the tour, I do have to follow along most of the time).

There's supposed to be a new sewer system for Venice, and I didn't notice the legendary bad odor on any of the boat rides - it was fine. Not bad for litter, either, but lots and lots of people walking every which way without looking out for other people. And this is a little past busy season, would not want to come when it's even hotter and more crowded. It's certainly something to see - no place else like it. There's a new hotel built inside an old spaghetti factory that our boat driver said had suites that are E20,000 a night (or maybe only one) - it's across the water from the main square. There were some expensive yachts docked on the main square side; maybe they get private tours in the middle of the night - it seemed much too crowded to appeal to anyone wanting a pleasant experience here. Maybe it's nice to be here for a week, shoulder season, and do just a little bit each day - there certainly are magnificent sights to see here. Carnivale must be beyond mind-boggling (into being a nightmare).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb