Just One Cornetto! Give It To Me!!!!! x


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
March 2nd 2008
Published: March 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Guys!!!!

I'm in my top bid for flights this month so got 3 out of 4 that I asked for- Venice, Hong Kong and days off to add to the holidays I have booked!!! I also got a load of turnarounds (there and back flights) which I have heard you get stuck with on top bid!!!!

So here is my tripp to Venice!!! I wasnt in the mood for some reason when I got on the flight- think it was from lack of sleep!!! The flight was EASY- nice passengers. Sometimes this is worse when its quiet as the time drags but cant complain!!!!

We went straight out when we arrived and there were 9 of us!!! Think this is the most ive have had come out exploring in total so was really nice! It makes it harder to see what you want to see really as you cant please everyone but think we were all happy! We had to get a bus from the hotel then a water taxi to the main Venice. The captain had been before so no map reading this time! It was so nice not to have to worry about finding our way back to the hotel!!!!

Venice is amazing! Its hard not to take a bad photo really! The weather was perfect, fresh and cold but the sun was shining! That was until we got onto the water taxi and all of a sudden a thick fog decended onto the city! It was amazing, cold but stunning! It made the place feel mysterious and spooky!!!! It just doesnt feel real and as if I was at a film set! The buildings are beautiful- all painted different colours and the Gondalas were filled with loved up couples! I didnt get to go on one- they arent that expensive, 80 Euros but that is divided by how many go on (can fit up to 6 people on there). Only a few of us wanted to go on so we didnt bother- I didnt feel I had missed out only thought well I'll go on it next time and hopefully with a fella not with work! Its such a romantic place!

We ate out to and I had a fab pizza washed down with some Italian beer!!!!!!

We strolled back to the bus passing stalls and shops selling the famous handmade masks- some of which are a bit wierd looking but other are stunning!!! Great for fancy dress parties!! A few I wanted to buy but they work out quite expensive and would only collect dust. I have one already from my mum and dads visit.

The streets are so so narrow and hanging inbetween the buildings is peoples washing! Also, there are bridges we walked over little canals which were hard to see in the evening- these are every where!!! I cannot describe it well but I think the photos say it all!

I would definately without a doubt tell everyone who reads this to go go go!!!!! Its a place you cannot miss!!! Start saving!!!

Anyway back now and have 3 turnarounds then I'm coming home for a week!!!! Cant wait!!!! Only spending a few days up north then heading to London for a few days too!!

See you next week!!!! Waaaa Hooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

Ps Lou Happy Birthday hun- hope you had a great holiday xxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



8th March 2008

oh its looks lovely bex. iwana go! hope you well xxx
10th March 2008

Photos
Arrrr, spectacular! these will be your fave photos and so good to see the place in the winter months you lucky girl.... quanto sei fortunata! xxxxx

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb