Getting here


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 14th 2007
Published: June 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I left my mountain village and took the bus to Pescara, which is a sizeable city on the Adriatic Sea. I had the address of the car rental office but no idea where it was. Reason for panic!!! As the bus started to drive down the main drag I attemted to ask the driver if he knew the location-----he answered in clear English and then dropped me at the front door of the office!
One other anecdote. When I was planning this trip I was going to be on my own for the entirety. At the last minute Steve ( an acquaintance at the 'Y' )asked me if I wanted to join a group organized by Gordon & Anita. I did and met Garth,Denis,Paul,Rick,Bruce & George.A group of diverse, amiable and fun-loving men - some of whom were great cooksThese people have now become friends.This group of people made my intro to Italy a most enjoyable experience.
My point - during yesterday's long drive I was thinking of all the time people have seemed to appeared and offered support and direction when it was needed. A second point - I had to be open to their help.
My RA story has been a similar narrative So as I start off on this 2nd part of my journey I want to acknowledge all those medical professionals that have been there , whether they knew me or not .My thanks to you will be the joy I get from this ride.
Ciao for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb