Biennale solo 2005 -prep


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
July 20th 2005
Published: July 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Only 10 days now 'til I pass out many meaningful kisses to a handful of extremely beloved precious faces, tie my shoes, wave bye-bye, and grab a seat on the Bart. I'll put in an hour twenty of abdominal butterfly study on the train to SFO, where I plan to stand in lines interminably. There, at some point, hopefully within a reasonable window of expected timeliness, I shall finally catch some air that will buffet me, gently please and thank-you, across many thousands of miles to Venice, Italy. Well, sort of. First I blow into Dallas Fort Worth. Then London Gatwick. Then, eventually, a million centuries later, into (or, preferably, onto a tarmac located at) Marco Polo International Airport - a one hour Alilaguna boat ride to Venice. Although I will probably -- no, definitely -- catch the 20 minute ACTV blue bus to Piazzale Roma at the edge of the lagoon city. From there, it's a short walk to the Grande Canal where I and my luggage will clamber aboard Vaporetto #82 and chug down the cury canal to my stop at the Accademia Bridge. A five minute walk from there and, la voila, I'll be at my hotel. My Venezia home for the following hot, humid, hopefully thunderstormy, unquestionably extraordinary, twelve days. I am really getting excited about this particular trip. It's not just returning to one of my most favorite places on the planet. It's also the fact that, this trip, I'm going it a la carte. Eremetic. Singular. Solitary. Oh solo mio. Now I have to restrain myself from packing for at least seven more days.

Advertisement



24th July 2005

how do you say 'good luck' in italian?
love the way you list patient, restless and jaded, interested together in the same sentence! you must be a riot to travel with, although i guess because you are going solo it will be up to strangers to discover you. i wish you good luck on your trip, it sounds like a real kettle of fish. i hope to hear how it turns out. cc

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0811s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb