Day 8: Tabacchi Two and a Concert Will Do


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Paderno del Grappa
May 21st 2009
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Looking into Asolo Centro Looking into Asolo Centro Looking into Asolo Centro

Outdoor seating areas like this one are scattered all throughout Asolo. This shot was taken from upstairs in the room where the concert was performed.
Today I discovered “Tabacchi Two.” It is the tabacchi shop located next to the lotto shop misleadingly named “Tabacchi One.” Tabacchi Two is actually quite easy to miss. Its door isn’t very wide. And, in fact, it’s not really a door at all. In its narrower-than-a-door-sized opening there is a drape of door-length fuzzy “ropes” (for lack of a better word). It’s kind of like those beaded curtains in kids’ rooms, but thick and fuzzy.

The first time I saw someone go through the door I thought that there must’ve been something quite seedy going on in the inside. An Italian twenty-something drew back the fuzzy ropes, stuck his head in to say something in Italian, and then appeared to be summoned inside. Like I said, it seemed like one of those places from which I should keep my distance.

But I ventured inside today. (Don’t worry: I was corrected on my initial impression and knew that I would be safe from illicit activity.) It was fabulous! It’s about the size of my Uncle Tudy’s old store and rather similar in terms of its content. They had wine, booze, snacks, cheese and sausages, a small selection of fresh fruit,
On the Way to the ConcertOn the Way to the ConcertOn the Way to the Concert

As we walked into town for a beautiful night of music, I just had to stop and take in this gorgeous view right before dusk.
some basic food staples, basic health and beauty items, and a counter where they’ll slice off some of the meats and cheeses and make you a panino (sandwich) right on the spot. I did most of my ordering in Italian.

And by the end of the day, I had made it back to Tabacchi Two (why they don’t call it Tabacchi Due, I don’t know). This time I was asking for a bottle of wine. I was able to slowly get out: “Vorrei una bottiglia di vino. Cosa ci consiglia?” (I’d like a bottle of wine. Do you have a suggestion?) I ended up with a bottle of prosecco, which is a locally produced sparkling white wine.

The prosecco was for a gathering in Asolo later in the evening. The faculty were invited to Molly’s home for hors d' oeuvres and wine, followed by walking into town to attend the faculty concert. Molly’s place was utterly breathtaking. We (I got a ride with Jeremy and Tommy) drove up what could be best described as a very narrow, very steep driveway. We were warned, however, that it is indeed a two-way road! At the top was perched an old
The Door That's Not a DoorThe Door That's Not a DoorThe Door That's Not a Door

Here is the entrace to Tabacchi Two. Don't let the rope curtain and blocked out windows fool you. This is a terrific--and family-friendly--little market.
brick home with a large covered patio area that overlooked the town below. Ahhh… I could spend an entire summer on that patio without growing tired of the mermerizing vista.

After some great food—including tomatoes with fresh mozzarella and basil, gnocchi, an array of fresh vegetables, and tiramisu for dessert—we wandered into Asolo Centro for the concert. There, three of my colleagues performed. Surprisingly it was not Italian (or English), but a collection of songs sung in German: Die schöne Müllerin by Austrian composer Shubert. Talk about a talented bunch of people! They were really impressive!


Advertisement



22nd May 2009

:)
Who knew you had to travel to Italy to hear great German music!
1st June 2009

fuzzy doors
I can't imagine why you didn't want to immediately go through that fuzzy blue door. Hee hee. Are those some kind of posters on the wall? Do they say anything? Very interesting...

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb