Day 4: The Real Life Easy Button


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Paderno del Grappa
May 17th 2009
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Working in the OfficeWorking in the OfficeWorking in the Office

The office I'm in is quite a change from my UNL office. I have three--count 'em, three!--huge windows. And my office door walks out onto a peaceful covered breezeway. What a place to work!
Little did I know when I woke up that all of my little lingering questions would soon be answered and my minor nuisances wiped away. It’s like the Staples commercials when someone presses the big, red “Easy Button” and says, “That was easy!” But instead of a big, red button, I had a real life person: Joan. We met in the student computer lab this morning. After our initial introduction and exchange of pleasantries, our conversation went something like this:

K: How do I get my computer to plug in when my wattage converter won’t fit? Also, I read that I’m not supposed to use this converter with computers. So is there an electronics store anywhere near here where I can buy a Euro-power supply for my computer?

Joan: Heck no. Your computer was built within the last two years. You don’t even need the wattage converter. Just use your little adapter plug. That’s all you need!

K: How do I use the pay-at-the-pump at the Shell station?

Joan: They’re a lot trickier than they look. Hold out until tomorrow and then drive down and have them fill the tank for you. Just say, “Pieno, per favore” and hand over your card.

K: Since you seem to know everything: Where can I buy an Italian-American dictionary?

Joan: Don’t buy one! Follow me into the CIMBA library and you can check one out (i.e., just take one off the shelf) and use it the whole summer. By the way, how about a pocket-sized Italian phrase book? And an Italy travel guide?

Now if this wasn’t enough, Joan showed me to my faculty office that I would have never found on my own. She gave me the inside scoop on meal tickets. She hooked me up with a Euro-plug hairdryer (my travel dryer is higher wattage than my adapter can safely handle). She showed me where I could swap out my digital alarm clock with an old-fashioned wind-up clock that I can understand. She introduced me to a lovely pastry shop near campus, Aplina, which is open during siesta. And she even arranged a ride for me to the faculty gathering tonight in Asolo.

Most of the day I spent in the office working on my lesson plans for this coming week (except, of course, when I took that break to join Joan for a caffè and pastry mid-afternoon at Alpina). I also met many of the faculty who are trickling into campus. They all seem really terrific ! If first impressions are any indication, I’m definitely going to enjoy working with these people!

Later in the evening, Julie and Tim picked me up (we live in the same building, so I wasn’t too far out the way) and we headed to Asolo. That’s where the graduate campus is located. We got a good parking spot (about a 10 minute jaunt from campus) and hiked up the hill to the building. The opening reception/barbeque was quite nice. I met more faculty, including some faculty from the grad program. I also met Fred, who is an MBA student at UNL. So I introduced myself and suggested we go out for lunch or dinner of these days. It would also give me an excuse to head over to Asolo again.

After the reception, Julie, Tim, Matt and his kids, Réne and her son, Chris, and I stopped at a terrific little gelato/dessert/wine/drink place right in the center of Asolo. I had a gelato menta (mint) and enjoyed great conversation on the outdoor patio.

I came home exhausted. But not too tired to start reading my Italy travel guide and dream up travel plans for when my dad (and then later, Ryan) gets here!

Gotta go snooze. Orientation starts tomorrow morning!


Advertisement



21st May 2009

Office - Wow
Your office sounds beautiful and I'm so excited to see your pictures so far. I wish you a wonderful semester (term?) with your new Italian students.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb