And That's Cow, For Now...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Belluno
March 10th 2013
Published: March 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Auguri tutti,

This week here we celebrated 'festa della donna' (celebration of woman). According to my sources at Wikipedia: "The International Women's Day (commonly referred to improperly Women's Day) marks the 8th of March every year to commemorate the achievements and social, political and economic conditions of women, both discrimination and violence which they are yet declared in many parts of the world. This celebration was held for the first time in the United States in 1909, in some European countries in 1911 and in Italy in 1922."

Anyway over here it's a big deal, so to celebrate I went to the birreria with my friend and her boyfriend. I was supposed to be having a kind of blind date with a friend of my friends, but I got stood up because his cow was giving birth?! Luckily to celebrate the libertation of women, they had hired naked dancing men. I also had pizza and meringue to ease the pain, so I got over it pretty quickly. Got to say though I've never been stood up for cattle before, and just to prove the point he even sent me a photo of the baby cow the next day (and Carrie Bradshaw thinks she has problems)!!

In other news I finally finished the patchwork blanket I was making, so very happy about that! Today was Guilia's 15th birthday, so we had a little party for her this afternoon including homemade Tiramisu.

Only 12 days to go now till I'm back and I'm having mixed feelings about it. Although I can't wait to get back and see my friends and family, I am going to miss it here (especially the food). Decided however that I'm going to continue with my Italian lessons when I'm back, because I would like to return one day to see Sicily, Sardinia, Tuscany & Naples.




Happy Mother's Day everyone and more soon.




Soph




XxX




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb